Skip navigation


“Once Upon a Wish” (Common Dandelion Cypsela & Calyx) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro w/3-ring Extension Tube Set, F/5.6, 1/125s, -1.0EV, ISO 640, Color Efex Pro ‘Bi-Color’ Filter

While viewing images to clear out a media card, I came across an interesting dandelion seed capture that I thought would make a really nice companion shot to Day Glow

At the time, I was going for a detailed shot of the seed itself so it was passed over for another, but on this second look, I was simply drawn to the overall light and airy feeling. I also like how the gentle curve of the stem suggests directional motion, confirming how easily these seeds are carried along on the slightest breeze. (And trust me, on this day there was quite the breeze! :-)

Just goes to show you that some images require more than one look in order to see their potential! :-)

30 Comments

  1. What a beautiful flower…Great shot!

  2. I agree, it’s a nice shot – and the colours are just magic – did you change the green and yellow??

    • Thank you, Truels!

      Yes, I added a Bi-color Filter (warm tone on top, cool tone on bottom) using Nik Color Efex Pro which enhanced the original background colors of tan-ish on top, yellow-y green on bottom. Everything else remained the same. :-)

  3. This is a wonderful image, absolutely love it! The mood and the feeling are so light and airy. Darwin

    • Why, thank you, Darwin! I always appreciate it when you take notice! :-)

  4. I am always stunned at your skill at capturing amazing close-ups outside! I find it so very challenging.

    • Ha! I’m not sure if it’s skill or my insanely persistant stubborness!

      Thank you, Karma! :-)

  5. Wow, that is beautiful, I love the colors

  6. Wonderful movement.

  7. Beautiful seed portrait :) And not only because of the colours. The central composition works here pretty well. Good job!

    • Thank you, Tomas. :-)

      The more I look at it, the more I like it! Almost appears as though it is dancing…

  8. Beautiful! I knew right away which filter you used when processing this, because I used the same one on one of my seed head pictures…. you probably know which one :-)
    Love the detail!

    • Thank you, Michaela! And to think, I almost never posted this!

      Hmmmm, I went back and looked at your dandelion photos (the ones you sent to me) and it looks like the 5th pic? Hard to tell because these filters do such different things depending upon the image.

      • I may have chosen different shades than you did…. or kept playing around, because mine was lighter. I dug up the e-mail, and it wasn’t the 5th (unless they came to you in a different order). It was the one where I said that I don’t think it’s a real dandelion, and where it looks like the seed heads were about to fly away.

      • Ah, yes, I know which one you mean now (3rd from the bottom). Yes, you chose different tones but, wow, the filter really made that image shine! :-)

  9. is it actually being blown across the frame? it looks like there is so much movement – like it just touched down for your benefit and will lift off any second. very nice!

    • No, not being blown across the frame. It was more like being blown about back and forth and in a circle. Just enough to be aggravating! Not sure if you’ve ever used extension tubes, but it is fairly hard to maintain focus, especially on such a tiny subject and when said subject is moving, you just about lose your mind! This shot was one of four at the very end of the shoot (I was losing light as well as patience) and I really didn’t think I was successful at all. So nice to be wrong! :-)

      Thank you, Stephen! :-)

  10. It’s not Tinker Bell anymore. It’s Mary Poppin’s umbrella!

  11. Really like the post processing…nice shot as always. ;-)

  12. Very nice. I do the same thing, pass images up to return to them later and like them. If, however, on reviewing after some time I still don’t like it … poof. Gone forever. :)

    I’m glad you’re not shooting dandelions again, I’m running out of salsify to try and mimic the shots with. ;)

    • Thanks, Sean! When I am really undecided, I’ll keep images around for awhile. But, inevitabley, I go all ‘spring cleaning’ and delete the crap! :-)

      No worries! Hubby spread the weed killer stuff so dandelions all went bye-bye! ;-)

  13. You have such a gift of capture color, light and mood. I adore your stuff. I too have gone back and looked at photos and saw them in a different light as well.

    • Aw, that is so sweet of you to say, Jan! I really do appreciate it! :-)

  14. Lovely shot! The bokeh is just incredible.

    Are your extension tubes “smart” (AF-S compatible)? if they are, where did you buy them… I can’t seem to find some like that…

    • Thanks, Juan! :-)

      Yes, the extension tubes are AF. I have Kenko Automatic Extension Tube Set DG for Nikon AF (12mm, 20mm, 36mm). Can use all three rings at once, or each indivdually. I find that most times I use manual focus with these but that is because I use them primarily with my 105mm F/2.8G Macro lens which already can have some difficulty maintaining focus. The set retails for about $179.00 (US).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

