Skip navigation


Breakfast Collage (Clockwise: Ham & Cheese Scramble, Pancakes, Strawberries, Banana Bread, Cap'n Crunch's Crunchberries Cereal)

I’m what you’d call a foodie. Hmmm, no, that’s not right.

I’m a die hard foodie!

Love to cook, love to eat, love to learn about food (and wine), love to watch cooking shows, love to create recipes. I am more than familiar with the names Giada, Ina, Nigella, Tyler, Bobby, Gordon and Guy, and my dvr is loaded with shows having titles like ‘Hell’s Kitchen’, ‘Top Chef’ and ‘Chopped’. Heck, I’ve been regularly attending the annual EpCot Food & Wine Festival since 1998! 

So, when Scott Thomas posted his latest photo assignment, Food Photography, I knew I was all in! :-)

Lunch Collage (T to B: Ham, Cheese & Apple Panini, Beet & Goat Cheese Salad, Cheese Pizza)

The hardest part of this assignment was remembering to stop and photograph the food. Let’s face it…once it’s baked, fried, grilled, roasted, seared, simmered and plated, the next step is ‘lift utensil, stick in mouth’, not, pick up camera! :-)

For this challenge, I specifically chose not to make anything out of the ordinary. If you think about it, food photographers shoot all kinds of food and food-related items, not just fancy-schmancy, perfectly plated meals. Be it for an equipment ad, a recipe in a cookbook, a restaurant menu, a glossy magazine cover or gourmet catalog, their job is to make the food look interesting and appetizing, whatever it may happen to be. 

Therefore, these three collages simply represent a little snapshot of what you may see on our table on

Dinner Collage (L to R: Hearty Beef Stew, Linguine w/Meatball & Steamed Asparagus)

any given day. (Is your mouth watering yet? ;-) ) Like everyone else, our tastes change with the seasons and being winter, these days the meals tend to be on the heartier side with a very high ‘comfort level’ factor. (Hey, something has to get us through all these Nor’easters!) Around March, as thoughts turn to pool season, things will lighten up in anticipation of days spent by the grill and fresh veggies pulled from the garden. (Oh, and skin-bearing swimsuits…yikes!)

But for now, I am very happy with plates filled with eggs and pancakes and bowls piled high with pasta and stews.

Say…could you please be a dear and pass the bread? :D

36 Comments

  1. I figure with all the calories burned shoveling and shivering these days, a gals got to eat up. The beet and goat cheese salad looks divine, what else is in there?

    • So true, Lynn! :-)

      The beet and goat cheese salad is sooooo yummy (it was part of my lunch today). It is mixed greens with a fresh lemon-tarragon vinaigrette, soft goat cheese, beets and toasted walnuts. Yum! :-)

  2. You are very right about remembering to stop and take pictures! I’ve only remembered to photograph a baked good I made this weekend so far. I love the light in your lunch photos the best (dinner has a bit of a yellowish cast to me, if I’m honest here).
    Delicious looking selections!

    • Thanks, Karen!

      Both the breakfast and lunch items were photographed in natural light whereas the dinner plates were under a mix of LED and incandescent lighting which is tough. I prefer food to have a warmer tone so I kept the cast in those rather than risk them coming out too cold-looking.

      As always, I appreciate your honesty! :-)

    • Update: I looked again at the dinner collage and was able to remove the cast. Was actually easy to do – doh! Sometimes I can’t see the forest for the trees…thanks for pointing it out! :-)

  3. OK. I’m hungry now!! Thanks!

  4. Yes, could you please pass the bread. My mouth is now watering for banana bread!! I would weigh a ton if I ate at your house!!

    • A slice is comin’ right up! The banana bread recipe is one my grandmother and then my mother made. It is sooooo good! Moist and delicious!

      Nah, you’d be fine here. We don’t have alot of pre-packaged crap foods and for us, moderation is everything. Small portions and nice, rounded meals. That’s not to say we don’t falter at times and eat something extremely bad but, we typically make up for it with veggies and fruits. You only go around once! :-)

      Thanks, KC! :-)

  5. This post, BEFORE breakfast?! Now my stomach is rumbling on overdrive LOL. Wonderful Photos.. and good colours. One thing I like to do though is to get in closer, REALLY up close and personal (you know I’m a detail fanatic LOL). I’ll make a blog post of some of my foodie photos and link to you, so that we can compare notes :)

    • Thanks, Kiwi! Oh, YOU should talk with ALL the food photos you’ve posted!! This is PAYBACK! :-)

      I do love to shoot macro and most likely would have eventually gotten to that if I kept on going. As with anything, the more you do, the better you get at it. The top breakfast plate is the first one I did and even I can see that, of all of them, it is quite boring. I suspect at some point that may need a re-do!

      Looking forward to your post!! :-)

  6. Oh excellent lunches . . . I wonder if I should just make a little panini for breakfast. Hmmm.

  7. YUMMYLICIOUS!!!

  8. Ok. You’ve made me hungry. The lunch and dinner collages did it.

    • Yippeee! Mission accomplished!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Much appreciated! :-)

  9. I am the exact opposite of a foodie, but this post has my mouth watering like crazy!

  10. You are making me HUNGRY!!!
    I’ll have some pancakes, strawberries and banana bread… pizza… and the linguini :-)
    I actually remembered to take some pictures yesterday, and might just go ahead and post those for tomorrow… and save the picture (I will hopefully take) of tonight’s dinner for some other time.

    • Well, M, that was the point! Thanks!

      Can’t wait to see what you shot! :-)

  11. Oh I can relate to this one. I could have written those first few paragraphs myself. I find remembering or even wanting to pick up the camera an issue too. The other day I made some Chinese 5 spice pork wraps and actually thought about the camera, but the idea of them getting cold before they hit my palate made me decide otherwise.

    Great shots!

    • Yay! A fellow foodie!! I just knew it, Amy! :-)

      Oh, yes, I can so relate as I ended up eating luke-warm linquine and cold asparagus last night. What we do for the art?

      Thanks much! :-)

  12. that meatball looks uh-MAZING. i would kill to have that plate for lunch today. for me, the pizza shot is really great too.

    • Seriously?? You would KILL for it? Wow, you really ARE a starving lawyer!! :-)

      Just kidding! I’m so glad you like it and the shot did exactly what it was supposed to do…make you wanna reach right into the computer screen, pick up the fork, stab that meatball and shove the entire thing into your mouth!

      Thanks for commenting, Stephen! I always so love it when you stop by! :-)

  13. I have got to go back and work on my food photos. These look great, Tracy! Captain Crunch brings back memories and a sugar rush!

    These certainly fit the bill for what I was looking for!

    • Ha! Thanks, Scott! :-)

      Crunchberries are perhaps my husbands favorite cereal so we typically have some in the house. I was actually pretty proud of myself when I thought to include the very recognizeable box in the background.

      Glad you liked the photos! Great assignment!

      Next time, I’ll have to do ALL desserts! :D

  14. Awesome food photography Tracy!! I am totally drooling!!! Can I come over for dinner? Pleeeeaaaaassse

    • Thanks Amber!

      You are welcome anytime but I doubt you’d want to come now as we are expecting 2 more feet of snow! Yikes! :-)

  15. Delicious! I want to eat at that restaurant! We never have pancakes, unless we go for a modern brunch at a cafe. Pancakes with syrup looks SO delicious. Your series of photos inspired me to make three photos too, morning, lunch and dinner. I am curious about what the colored crunch breakfast is, does it contain blue, red and green things or is it just color for fun?

    • Ha! My parents always say that our home is the ‘finest restaurant in town!’ :-)

      LOVE breakfast! Could eat it anytime of day….pancakes, waffles, muffins, eggs, bacon, oatmeal, crepes…mmmmmm

      Honestly, the cereal REALLY is those bright colors! I guess you don’t have Cap’n Crunch’s Crunchberries in Denmark? It is my husband’s all-time favorite cereal. Although, when we were kids (a bazillion years ago), the crunchberries were only a red color. Nowadays, the kids are spoiled and they have red, green, blue and purple crunchberries.

      Thanks, Birgitte! Can’t wait to see your food photos! :-)

  16. Everything looks wonderful! I wasn’t hungry before I arrived and suddenly… I am starving!

    • Thanks so much Robin! How sweet of you to say!

      So, will that be a table for one, then? ;-)

      If you are hungry, then you might not want to see today’s posting! :-)

  17. Wow, everything looks so good. I like the closeup image of the plates, and the cereal box of Cap’n Crunch in the background gives it a nice touch.

    • Thank you, Nye! And double thanks for noticing the box in the background! I was pretty proud of myself for thinking to do that! :-)


3 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. [...] Tracy blogged about the  topic of Food Photography http://milkayphoto.wordpress.com/2011/01/24/three-squares/#comment-4420 and her post was made in direct response to  Scott Thomas’s  [...]

  2. By Fast Food « on 26 Jan 2011 at 10:01 pm

    [...] Dalia with her Tasteful Tuesdays, Cheryl with her amazing cookies, Karen with her whoopie pies, and Tracy with her variety of goodies I was feeling inspired by [...]

  3. By Assignment 11: Recap | Views Infinitum on 02 Feb 2011 at 7:32 am

    [...] slammed dunked this assignment with a hat trick (enough sports metaphors for you yet?) of assembled food collages covering breakfast, lunch and dinner. I still get a sugar rush from the Cap’n Crunch [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

