Skip navigation


"World's Apart" (Dianthus Stamens) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro w/3-ring Extension Tube Set, F/6.3, 1.3s, ISO 640, Nik Color Efex Pro 'Antique Portrait' Filter

And now, the conclusion of ‘All My Stamens’

Her: [accusation] How could you?!

Him: [confused] What are you talking about?

Her: [eyes blazing] Don’t act like you don’t know! I saw you with that, that chika! Whispering and giggling!

Him: [defensive] It’s not what you think, Mi amor! We just work together!

Her: [sniff] I can’t even look at you…I must go.

Him: [hurt] Please, don’t go. I’m lost without you.

Her: [head shaking] I have to. I need some time to think.

Him: [tenderly] Niña, listen. You know me. I’m not like that.

Her: [doubtful] I don’t know…I’ve been hurt before.

Him: [takes her hands in his] I would never hurt you. Te Amo! 

"Come Back to Me" (Dianthus Stamens) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro w/3-ring Extension Tube Set, F/5.6, 1/50s, -0.7EV, ISO 640

Her: [eyes shining] Really?

Him: [wipes away her tears] We’ve been through too much. You are in my corazón … my soul. You are a part of me.  Always

"Sweet Embrace" (Dianthus Stamens) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro w/3-ring Extension Tube Set, F/5.6, 1/50s, -0.7EV, ISO 640

Him: [gazing deeply into her eyes] Look at me. You know this to be true.

Her: [sheepishly] Oh mi, I’ve been such an idiota…[throws arms around his neck]

"Love Infinity" (Dianthus Stamens) Nikon D300, 180mm (VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro w/3-ring Extension Tube Set and 1.7x Teleconverter, approx. 4x Magnification), F/13, 1/1.6s, ISO 640

Him: [laughs] No, no. It’s just all  that hot blood coursing through your veins! You do drive me loca, Cariño! But, that is what I love about you!

Her: [sly smile] Good. But, just so we’re clear…cheat on me and I will kill you…

~ The End :-) ~

56 Comments

  1. Hahaha… Love the concluding “stamen”… You had me wondering where exactly that was going… Very nice shots too to compliment your conversation…

    • Ha! Thanks, Bri! I really didn’t know where I was going with it either, to be honest, and then boom! That thought entered my head and it all just seemed to fit since Spanish soap operas are all fluff behind the overt drama.

      Glad you like it! :-)

  2. These are so detailed. They look like little pipecleaners! I love your commentary too.

    • Thanks! :-)

      YES! They do look like pipcleaners! What a perfect description!

  3. Hee, hee… Spanish soap opera stamens! They certainly are fiery! Very cool close-ups! Now you’ve got me wondering if I can use my tubes and teleconverter together and get anything decent looking.

    • :D

      Thank you, Karma! I say go for it! Can’t hurt to try, right? ;-)

  4. I really love these photographs. I so need to get these extension tubes for my 100mm macro. How close can you get? Is there distortion? Do you use manual or auto-focus? Is a tripod a must? Did I already ask these questions?

    • Thanks much, Becky!

      I think it depends upon what tubes you buy and what lens you use them on. There shouldn’t be any distortion since the tubes contain no optics – they simply decrease your minimum focussing distance allowing you to get closer. For my tubes, I find MANUAL focus to be a must, as small increments of distance are greatly felt. AF really doesn’t know what to focus on! I have hand-held with the tubes but find a tripod and remote cable release to be what is needed to get clear, sharp images. (Any movement is magnified).

  5. LOL–O Milkay–I’ll never think of flowers the same way again!!!!

    • Hehehehe…I suppose none of us will, whitebuffalo! The idea really sprung from the last Dianthus stamens posting…I just needed some time to figure out how all of it was going to end! :-)

  6. Ohhhh the melodrama, and love, hate, desire, jealousy, misunderstanding, confusion… swoon, all the ingredients for a best soap opera or theatrical tragedy, AND all worked out in the end (phew)… I loved it and laughed out loud, the photos fit the words perfectly!
    Brilliant words, amazing photos!!!! you are priceless!

    • Ha! You make my day, Kiwi!!! Thanks for the kind ‘critic’s review’! :D

      I am soooo glad people are getting this as it so easily could have gone the other way! :-)

  7. Haha, love your little story. Beutiful photos, too! The first one is my least favorite, but ONLY because of the processing.

    • Thanks, Michaela! I even appreciate the critique! I simply didn’t like the colors on the first one….in addition, there were some background distractions that I didn’t pick up on when shooting (aaargh!). So, I did the best I could. :-)

      Now that I look at it, the story probably would have been just as strong without it!

  8. !Que fantastico!
    *applause* :)

  9. Those tiny stamens look like beautiful and eager tentacles.

  10. I really love how the focus of the 3rd foto is positioned. Nice composition and good image qualitiy ;)

    • Thank you! Much appreciated!

      The toughest part was getting them to hold the kiss for that long… ;-)

  11. That is cute, I love these shots too. The sepia looks awesome as well

  12. The end? What do you mean the end? I thought soaps continued forever? hehe…love this. It’s so clever how you created a story around these beautiful flowers and their stamens. The dialogue fits so perfectly. A really beautiful series. I just love “sweet embrace”.

    • Hahahaha! Only you, Amber! :-)

      Is it the end?? Hmmmmm…one never really knows if there is more to the story. Only the future will tell. ;-)

      Thanks, Amber!

  13. Loved the whole series. You have quite an imagination…..and your photography never ceases to wow me. You keep on inspiring me. :-)

    • Aw, thank you, Carol! You are sweet! (You’ve done some inspiring on your end as well!) :-)

      At this point, I’m not sure if it is imagination or the fact that this never-ending winter is starting to make me go insane! ;-)

  14. lol! You are a riot, Tracy.

    The photos are amazing. Beyond amazing. Turning them into a soap opera made them fun too. :D

    • Ha! Thanks, Robin! You know…with talk like this you’ll only encourage me… ;-)

  15. My wife and kids have been watching General Hospital for years and years and this kind of dialog sounds about right. It would have been cool to see her leave. ;)

    • Yeah…your wife and kids are the only ones who’ve been watching…riiiiight;-)

      If it were a true Telenovela, she would have left, only to be captured by overlords and taken to some far away island, but he never stopped looking for her, and then, that fateful day, when they are unexpectedly reunited, he learns she was pregnant when she left and he now meets his 2 year old son for the first time and they ultimately escape and live happily ever after….

      You know, something like that. :-)

  16. Master work Tracy, love em. Adding dialog to a series of pics is something I can get behind. ;-)

  17. my favorite telenovela is a version of La Fea Mas Bea in Costa Rica where the girl is hideous during the daytime and beautiful at night. brilliant!

    the infinity stamens are very cool.

    • Only you would have a favorite telenovela, Stephen! :-) Does sound like a good one! They are fun to watch…so overly dramatic…no one talks that way!

      Thank you! I thank you infinitely;-)

  18. Exquisite images

  19. I really do like these.

  20. I don’t like soap operas but I really enjoyed this and that’s something :) The story perfectly matches the photos from which the last one is my favourite. Great work!

    • How sweet of you to say! So glad you enjoyed my little tale! Thank you, Tomas! :-)

  21. Dittos!! Great stuff, loved that first one, the sepia tones look great to me.

  22. All beautiful, the first photograph is magnificent! Almost makes me blush. :-) Such cleverness with the story too.

    • Aw, thank you kcjewel…magnificent is a high compliment! So glad you like it and the story! :-)

  23. My stamen didn’t even get a bit part in the soap, eh? That aside, the circular stamens and the antique one on top are lovely in different ways.

    • Thanks, Lynn!

      Er, yeah…sorry about that. What REALLY happened is your stamen ended up on the cutting room floor (which is often the case in Hollywood). Tough break, kiddo. ;-)

  24. My stamen is heartbroken.

  25. I like the happy ending, – as long as it lasts. The photos are so lively and fresh, beautifully captured. I can imagine how you, while looking through the lense, must have felt drawn you into this tiny world of drama and beauty.

    • Me, too! Thanks, Birgitte!

      Yes, I could live in the world of macro…so much going on down there, all missed by us on a day-to-day basis…

  26. This is a brilliant piece. Photo poetry or photo play? I love it and think you need to put it in a show.

    • Jennifer A (Bread and Putter)
    • Posted March 25, 2011 at 8:37 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Oh my gosh, this is awesome!! So creative and so cute, and such beautiful photos. I especially love the b&w… so dramatic!!

    The soap opera reminds me of when Jack was dating Salma Hayek on 30 Rock… hee hee hee!

    • Thank you, Jennifer! So sweet! :-)

      hehehehe….yeah, that 30 Rock spoof on the telenovella was hysterical! They nailed it!

  27. Wow, simply amazing. Especially the first shot.


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By Super Macro | Views Infinitum on 25 Mar 2011 at 6:35 am

    [...] flower featured above was a star in a soap opera over at Tracy’s blog.  Check it out but, be warned, have a tissue [...]

  2. By Click and Cackle « Torch Lake Views on 26 Mar 2011 at 12:08 pm

    [...] know this is a G-rated blog, but I have to give you this dramatic link.  Parental Guidance [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

