Skip navigation


I don’t typically post a yearly wrap-up but, Scott Thomas’ latest photo assignment, “Best Photos of 2011” had me looking back today. Hmmmm, was a pretty lean year for posting… I must do better in 2012! :-)

To make it easier, I approached this task with the desire to select the best photo for each month starting with November 2010 through October 2011. Three months proved more difficult and I allowed myself to select more than one image.

Here we go! :D

Back in November 2010, fresh from a trip to Disney, I had posted a series of photos from Hollywood Studios. The giant scrabble board complete with green army man was my favorite:

“You’ve Got a Friend in Me” (Oversized Scrabble Board with Green Army Man, Pixar Place, Disney’s Hollywood Studios) Nikon D300, 34mm, F/5.6, 1/125s, ISO 200, ‘Poster Edges’ CS3 Photo Filter

In late December, we were hit with the first of many Nor’easters. Even so, the abundance of heavy, wet snow couldn’t put a damper on our holiday spirit!

Frosty

“Frosty” (Snow-covered Holiday Wreath) Nikon D300, 82mm, F/5, 1/60s, +0.7EV, IS0 200

I couldn’t pick a favorite from January. Both images hail from our October Disney trip since by then, I simply had HAD it with winter! (Molten Mickey post is here).

“Coquettish” (Lesser Flamingo, Disney’s Animal Kingdom) Nikon D300, 200mm, F/7.1, 1/200s, -0.3EV, ISO 400, Nik Color Efex Pro Bi-color Filter

“Molten Mickey” (Turn-style Gates at Disney’s Hollywood Studios) Nikon D300, 52mm, F/7.1, 1/200s, ISO 250, Nik Color Efex Pro Detail Stylizer & Bi-Color Filters

February brought some fun with my 105mm macro lens and 3-ring extension tube set. I wanted to see just how ‘up close and personal’ I could really get!

“Missing You” (Dianthus Stamen & Petals) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro w/3-ring Extension Tube Set, F/11, 1/30s, -1.0EV, ISO 640

The macro fun continued well into March

“C is for Carousel” (Stargazer Lily Stamens, Lilium Oriental Stargazer) Nikon D30, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/4.5, 1/8s, ISO 1000

After a visit to the doctor in February got me back into a fitness routine, I was in serious need of motivation to ‘stick with it’. I found exactly that in April! :-)

“Motivation” (Marc Jacobs Swimsuit) Nikon D300, 36mm, F/4.2, 1/20s, ISO 640

Critters are often featured in my photos and this adorable little chipmunk stole my heart in May:

“Home is Where you Make it” (Eastern Chipmunk in Birdhouse) Nikon D300, 200mm, F/5.6, 1/200s, ISO 640, Built-in Front Curtain i-TTL Fill Flash, -1.0 EV

June turned out to be all about flowers. I couldn’t decide between these three beauties:

“Yamaboushi” (White Kousa Dogwood, Cornus kousa) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/4.5, 1/200s, ISO 320, Built-in i-TTL Fill Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser, +1.0 EV

“Love” (Dicentra spectabilis, Pink Bleeding Heart) Nikon D300, 260mm, F/5, 1/640s, -1.0EV, ISO 200

“Hope” (Pink Herbaceous Peony) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/4.5, 1/320s, -0.3EV, Built-in Front Curtain i-TTL Fill Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser

As a die-hard foodie, I love to cook and sometimes, I actually remember to take a photograph of my creations! We chomped on these delights all throughout July:

“Summer Cubed” (Watermelon, Mozzerella & Procuitto Bites) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/4.5, 1/30s, ISO 1000, Built-in i-TTL Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser

Feeling very proud of myself for not only sticking to my fitness committment but also exceeding my expectations despite breaking my left foot, I decided to show off the results of my hard work in August!

“Good Form’ (Female Fitness Portrait) Nikon D300, 28mm, F/4.5, 1/10s, ISO 640, Built-in i-TTL Fill Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser, -1.3EV, Nik Silver Efex Pro ‘Silhouette II’ Filter

Another entry for August… when I wasn’t sweating on the elliptical, I made sure to enjoy the summer sunshine and was rewarded with a unique photo of a bee in flight:

“Flight of the Bee” (Carpenter Bee in Flight) Nikon D300, 280mm (VR 200-400mm F/4G w/1.4x teleconverter), F/5.6, 1/640s, ISO 640

I got all ‘artsy’ in September with a series of cucumber tendrills…

“Undulation” (Abstract Cucumber Tendrils) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/4, 1/320s, -1.0EV, Built-in i-TTL Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser, -1.3EV

…and finally was able to say a proper Au voir to summer in October.

“And the Sun Sets on Summer” (Rudbeckia ‘Gloriosa’ aka Black-eyed Susan) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/7.1, 1/125s, ISO 400, Nik Color Efex Pro ‘Photo Stylizer’ Filter

So, that’s it folks…a small photographic slice of 2010.

Yes, it was a VERY good year! :D

39 Comments

  1. Hmmm – thinking “Christmas Card” with the wreath photo? I sure do like all of them, but especially the Bleeding Heart for its simplicity (and I’m pretty sure I told you how much I liked Undulation when you posted it!).

    • You would think so, huh? but no, I typically don’t do that (It’s a little complicated to explain). BUT, perhaps I should reconsider??

      Thank you for your kind comments! It was fun to look back and reminisce! :-)

  2. A very good year, indeed! A wonderful selection, Tracy, with a great variety! :)

    • Thank you, Ted! After my first year of posting of (mostly) flowers I thought, hmmmm, perhaps I should flex my photographic muscles a bit? I hope to do more of that in years to come.

  3. I love your collection. I wonder if your bleeding heart is going to be an early favorite, as I noticed Barbara commented on it too – I have a soft spot for those adorable flowers and you have such perfect light and everything in that shot! Of course I love the peeking flamingo and the really cool shot of the retreating bee.
    I hope you do decide to treat us to more of your images in the next year! :-)

    • Thank you, Karma! :-)

      Yeah, I’m a sucker for the bleeding heart…those perfect little heart-shaped blooms dangling off of thin stems. Each year I try to see them in a different light. This one was the very last litle blossom left and boy, oh boy did it shine! :-)

      I will do my best!

  4. Wow, wow, wow. What at fantastic work here. Just beautiful. I still remember finding you through your tendril shots, and boy do i still love those. You’ve done great work here. And congrats on succeeding with your fitness goals!

    • Thank you, thank you, thank you! You are very kind! :-)

      Fitness has become an essential part of my life these days and I do hope it continues. It really is something I have to work at each and every day lest I regress back to my lazy ol’ self! :-)

  5. Dang it Woman! Do you EVER take a crappy photo??? ;)
    These are all fantastic! I think my favorite though is the one of you…I know how much work preceded it, and you deserve to be proud of your accomplishment. Maybe someday I will copy you like I said I would….hey, I CAN squat now! That’s a HUGE improvement since you first posted that photo. :) Although, my present day squat would look a lot mushier than yours. ;)

    • LOL! Why YES, KD, of course I do I just don’t post any of them!!!

      Aw, you are very sweet…many thanks. *blush* I really am so very proud of myself and my current level of fitness and strength are what keep me motivated on the days where I’d rather sit on the couch and watch tv. Well, that and the fact that I TOTALLY love food… ;-)

      Woo hoo! Look at you go, girl!! Every step in the right direction is a HUGE accomplishment and you have come so very far. I am CERTAIN the day when you post your photo is not too far off in the distant future!

  6. Beautiful photos! It was fun for me to see your older photos since I didn’t start following you until spring (I think!). You really are a Disney junkie. I have friends that go a few times a year and know all the ins and outs as I’m sure you do.

    • Many thanks, Becky! :-)

      Yeah, guilty as charged. We’ve been going to Disney since 1996 and have logged too many trips to count. The artistic creativity there is simply astonishing and I love the sense of ‘play’ that goes into everything. The best part about knowing all the ins and outs are the ways to maximize the fun w/o losing your shirt! If you ever plan on going, we should chat! :-)

  7. And it’s not over yet!! I’d be willing to bet you’ve got some more winners in you between now and 12/31. ;)

    Wonderful work, Tracy!

  8. I don’t envy you, M.P. – with so many great shots, choosing only a few favorites would have been a real killer!
    Awesomeness abounds! :)

  9. A fine series Tracy.
    I hope your foot is ok now.
    Favourites? The bee is outstanding. But what can beat “Hope”?

    • Aw, thank you so very much, Carsten. :-)

      My foot is fantastic – thanks for asking! At times it likes to remind me that I did, indeed, break it but I use that as a sign to slooooow down and take time for me. Not a bad thing for this girl.

      • It will forget to remind you. But if you take many pictures, you’ll have to slow down while photographing.

      • So true! :-)

  10. Oooh, the wreath is my favorite, even though I don’t want that weather yet!

    Mel

    • Me either!!

      Thanks, Mel, for stopping by and commenting! :-)

  11. I remember all of these and must say that I’m partial to your florals. Your hope peony takes my breath away.

    • Thank you so much, Tammy! Such kind words to read on a Sunday morning! :-)

  12. This is a GREAT post, Tracy! So many fabulous photos – and SO many no.1 favorites!!! But your series of cucumber tendrills are unique and made an unforgettable an impression on me. So they are my choice!

    • Wow – many thank yous, Truels! :-) What a wonderful comment to post!! :-)

      I like those, too. Playful and fun and a bit out of the norm for me. I like it when I allow my creative side to overrule my practical side! :-)

  13. No matter how you slice it, looks like a great year photographically! Love those tendrils…

    • Thank you, Tom. :-)

      Those tendrills do seem to be a favorite!

  14. These are all so incredibly beautiful especially the macro flowers. I love the dianthus with a little moisture coming off that stamen–wow! Nice work on all.

  15. Again, gorgeous images here. Good work this year! :)

    • Thank you, Katie! It IS nice to look back and remember the GOOD ones! :-)

  16. How on earth did you get that bee-in-flight shot ? All your photos are wonderful. Found you c/o Scott’s photo contest.

    • Thank you, Sybil! I so appreciate your stopping by!

      Ah, the bee image…that was a case of ‘while shooting something else…’ ;-)

      I was shooting butterflies at my butterfly bush when I noticed this bee just hovering, waiting to get to a specific flower. I turned my rig as fast as I could to lock onto the bee and only got one (not so in focus) shot. Still, pretty darn cool as I never ever thought I’d capture a bee in flight! :-)

  17. It is not easy to point out any photo from your collection, they are all brilliant work from a top prof photographer, – everyone can see that. I think will point out how good you are at making interesting photos in many different styles. One can easily be focused at one particular way to make good photos, and forget all the others, but you don´t have that problem. If I realy must choose a favorite,I will look at style and color, in this case I do love “C is for Carousel”, “Hope” and “Undulation”. These photos is food for imagination. “Love” is a wonderful clear photo, so interesting to study and lovely at the same time. “Home is Where you Make it” is such a sweet photo, your training and bikini very personal and yet not, then there is the food, umnnn…I think I have to make me some lunch. I wish you a Happy Thanksgiving, Tracy.

  18. Very good year sums it up well. Fantastic photos, all of them. :)

  19. A very nice collection of favorites! I love the shot of the bleeding heart, “love”, and the bee in flight. :D


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Assignment 16 Recap | Views Infinitum on 23 Nov 2011 at 7:53 am

    […] (who keeps me on my toes around here) of Milkay Photography blog presents us with a set of photos and images showing us her skills and breath of talent as a photographer.  However, she did not show the one photo I wanted.  Her in that red batching […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

