Skip navigation


“Fissure” (??) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/8, 1/80s, Built-in Fill Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser, Nik Silver Efex Pro ‘Architecture’ Filter

Well, it’s time for another one of Scott’s Photo Assignments and for this go around the challenge is Abstract Photography. I generally do not go out looking to take abstract photos but occasionally, they do find me. :-)

All but the last two photos were taken today. With not alot of color around these parts and very few flowers to be had, I looked for subject matter outside my norm and concentrated on form, light and texture. The last two images I pulled from the archives since otherwise, they probably would never have seen the light of day.

Can you guess what they are? (Answers will be posted tomorrow).
 

“Wired” (??) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/6.3, 1/200s, ISO 200, Selective Toning

 

“Rusted” (??) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/8, 1/125s, ISO 200

 

“Grilled” (??) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/6.3, 1/80s, ISO 200, Colors Inverted

 

“Inprismed” (??) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/3.2, 1/100s, ISO 100

 

“Rosebud” (??) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/7.1, 1/100s, ISO 200

 

“I.C.U” (??) Canon Powershot SX40 HS, 27.3mm, F/4.5, 1/15s, ISO 1600

 

“One Red, Two White, Three Black” (??) Nikon Coolpix P7100, 42.6mm, F/5.6, 1/250s, ISO 100

28 Comments

  1. Tracy, this is an amazing series of photos! Each one is so different from the others – and each one is uniquely implemented in composition, textures and colors. An impressive and beautiful collection of photos. And I can not nominate some of them as better than others because they are so different. Great job, Tracy!

    • Aw, thank you, Truels! It took me awhile to allow my brain to stop thining so literally but once I did, I started to have fun with it. In fact, I just stepped outside again now to check on something, walked by a neat handle on one of my potting containers and instantly thought “oh, why didn’t I photo that?” ;-)

      I am thinking this abstract stuff could get addictive…:-)

  2. Love guessing what has made up a good macro or other photo!
    1. Weathered grill/furniture cover
    2. Hanging flower basket
    3. Not sure about this one….
    4. Inside of a thermal/insulated something, like a winter running hat
    5. Garden decor
    6. Bird bath
    7. Bottle
    8. Your legs

    Great shots!

    • Thanks, Amy! :-)

      Nice guesses! We’ll have to see how you did tomorrow…. ;-)

  3. You really have me guessing!
    Here goes…
    1. peeling wallpaper, or some sort of old insulation.. or really old lino?
    2. I think it’s wood not wire… garden furniture?
    3. Edge of a patio table with patio in background? or edge of a decorative bowl?
    4. Silver material with sequins on it?
    5. Glass lamp panel?
    6. This has had water in it at some time.. bird bath?
    7. Bottom of a glass bottle?
    8. Someone’s legs in white trousers with a red shoe?

    • Hi Kiwi! Now, that’s the point, isn’t it? ;-) So glad you chose to play!

      Good guesses! We’ll all find out tomorrow! :-)

  4. Very very nice photos Tracy, so elegant and interesting. A good mix of pattern and colors, and a very good use of light. I am still trying to figure out what it is… :-)

    • Thank you so much, Birgitte! :-)

      Here’s a hint…the first six are images of things seen in my backyard…

  5. that all looks like stuff that’s been attacked by rabid squirrels. :)

  6. I do love the form, colors and texture of your images. Your tips on what to look for is very helpful to me, I need to learn to see that. I could guess the “Rosebud” birdbath, and last photo must be your legs. :)

  7. What a fantastic choice of pictures, Tracy ! The real abstract photography. Congratulations for the variety and the quality of your pictures. Let me guess… not easy but i will try, love this part too :

    1. could it be part of this big black sheet of material used to put in the garden to prevent weeds from growing ?
    2. small branches
    3. some rusty tool over a frosted puddle ?
    4. a screen ?
    5. a sprinkler or propeller toy ?
    6. a flower pot or garden sculpture ?
    7. tires
    8. “these shoes are made for walking”

    • Wow, Isa! You really put some effort into your guesses! Later today, I will post the answers and you can see how you did!

      Thanks so much for your kind comments and for playing! :-)

  8. Very cool, Tracy! I particularly like the first shot. All that texture is lovely. I’m horrible at guessing so I’ll skip right to the answers. :D

  9. For not looking to do these you sure do them well, M.P… stunning… I particularly like ‘Fissure’… and ‘I.C.U’… but then, I like them all, so.
    I’m always horrible at this, but I’ll try anyway.
    1. dog/bird food bag
    2. I’m going to say it’s organic… like branches… just because it probably isn’t
    3. a… metal… bowl
    4. screen door
    5. lantern globe
    6. ceramic… flower…. thing (that is a technical term)
    7. someone else said bottle. I’m stealing that answer.
    8. Pacino inspired leg… ‘Say hello to my one red ‘choo…’ :)

    • Hey, thanks Sig! :-)

      Those are really good (and funny!) guesses! Not too much longer a wait for all to be revealed… ;-)

  10. These are so cool. I really like “Fissure”, it looks like something out of a sci-fi movie!

  11. So many things to like, but “Grilled” is very satisfying. Just the right amount of order balanced with a bend in the continuum . . . nice.

    • Thank you, Gerry! Very high praise indeed and very much appreciated! :-)

  12. I’m too late to guess, but you know I love abstracts. The first two are my favorites.

    • Thank you, Lynn!

      Ah, yes. I thought of you many times while taking these…a perfect photo challenge for you! (or perhaps, not? since you take abstracts all the time). It was fun stepping outside my comfort zone.

  13. stunning macro work!

  14. This is my favourite thing about macro–finding art in the ordinary. Love the water bottle one: absolutely gorgeous!
    SW

    • Aw, thank you, SW! Yeah, I could live in world of macro…so much cool stuff there! :-)


2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By Abstract Revelations « Milkay Photography on 22 Mar 2012 at 7:23 pm

    [...] Yellow As promised, here are the revelations as to what the images I posted yesterday in Abstract Reality actually are! Everyone had really, really good guesses! I was very [...]

  2. By Assignment 18 Recap | Views Infinitum on 28 Mar 2012 at 5:39 am

    [...] has a good eye for macro compositions which take us into the surreal using real things. I felt like had taken a fantastic voyage after visiting her [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

