Skip navigation


“Spring Stretch” (Crocus ‘Yalta’, Tommasinianus hybrid, aka Snow Crocus) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/5, 1/80s, -0.7EV, ISO 320, Built-in Fill Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser, -0.7EV

Last year at this time, the Snow Crocus were still fast asleep, buried under two feet of the cold, white stuff.This year couldn’t be more different!

With an overall lack of snowfall during the winter and the crazy higher-than-normal temperatures here in the Northeast, the happy little blossoms are popping up all over the landscape.

One little beauty caught my attention since it appeared to be caught in a sleepy yawn, stretching its petals as if perplexed as to why it was roused so soon (we typically don’t spot crocus until mid-April).

The next bloom I found was hiding beneath a large rhododendron, seemingly timid to come forth, yet reaching for the warmth of the sun just beyond its grasp.

“Awakening” (Purple Snow Crocus) Nikon D300, VR 105mm F/2.8G, F/4.5, 1/200s, ISO 200, Built-in Fill Flash w/Gary Fong ‘Puffer’ Diffuser

As much as it is nice to see life returning to the garden, I’m not all that keen on rushing the seasons. Who wants to worry now if outdoor plants are getting enough water or if young shoots are struggling to dig their way out from under a bed of leaves? It really is just too soon. I’m sure I don’t have to stress over this as Mother Nature is known for teasing us with a few warm days followed by a return to chilling temps, even if the sole purpose is to remind us all of exactly who is in charge.

So, let’s hit the snooze button, shall we? I, for one, need a bit more time to get ready for the tasks ahead. :-)

24 Comments

  1. These are gorgeous! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Gorgeous images as always. I, too, am concerned about the rush of things this season tho I’m not complaining about the warm weather. We have asparagus up 3-4″! Wacky!

    • Many thanks, Becky! :-)

      I do like the warm weather but 80 degrees in March? At times, when I was sweating this week in the yard, I found myself getting annoyed since at that temp, I could be swimming in our pool! (which is, of course, still covered). Asparaus…yum!

  3. Beautiful images, Tracy. I’m taking the tasks one day at a time. Clearing one bed one day, planting annuals another and watering on other days. I’m so glad that it will be cooler this week.

    • Thanks so much, Lynn! :-)

      You are already planting annuals? Oh, I suppose you mean things like petunias which can survive dips into chilly temps which I know are on their way. Back in the 50’s today which is good. I didn’t like it being 76 degrees in my office (or worse yet, my workout room!)

  4. SO amazing macro photos! Over here the seasons have been back to normal – after two long and cold winters in 2010/11 and 2009/10.

    • Thank you, Truels! Today, we are back to more “normal” spring temps and are supposed to dip down into below freezing tonight. Good thing I didn’t put away any of my winter sweaters. ;-)

  5. These are so beautifully composed…absolutely beautiful…

  6. Beautifully done, Tracy!
    Wow! Love both of these (as always, of course)! :)

    • Aw, shucks. You are very kind to say so, Sig! Much appreciated! :D

  7. Like Becky Sue, I am worried about the fast warm spring but your images are lovely.

    • Thank you, Tammy! :-)

      Hopefully, this sudden dip back to ‘normal’ won’t cause too much harm on those plants that have sprung too soon. Time will tell.

  8. I’m not ready for it yet, either, but the plants and trees have been bursting out WAY ahead of time here. I’m hoping tonight’s freeze won’t be too hard on them. After all, it’s not their fault Mother Nature breezed in here with summertime temperatures.

    Beautiful shots. I really like that first one. As you wrote, it appears to be yawning. So cute. :)

    • Thank you, Robin!

      What a difference a week makes! We went waaaaay into below freezing temps last night but it is the chilling winds that have me the most concerned. Everything is so dry and plants are weaker when dehydrated. There are even brush fire warnings posted. I think Mother Nature has been hittin’ the liquor cabinet… ;-)

  9. Lovely colors, lovely photo!

  10. Really like that unique look in the first image. Poor plants are all confused this spring! My “rhodo-azalea” has buds and flowers on it – that almost never happens in March.

    • Thanks! :-)

      Yes, those poor things! I’ve got to take a walk-around tomorrow to see how things are doing. I know the daylily fronds and the irises are already high up out of the ground. Usually we have time to clean up and mulch before that happens!

  11. LOVE “spring stretch”! Things haven’t had a chance to stretch around here… it was more like wake up, get to it because here we go… ready or not it’s spring!! I fear a long, hot summer with lots of mosquitoes!

    • Thanks, jewel! :-)

      We are back into really cold temps (might snow tomorrow…yikes!) so I would imagine all of the ticks and mosquitos that emerged prematurely were taken by surprise. I just hope the buds survived!

  12. Wow, Tracy, these shots are simply beautiful, magical. Nice work.

    • Thanks much, Dave! It’s been awhile since I’ve seen you ’round these parts… ;-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

