Skip navigation


After four days of rain, I’m definitely learning how to look at water in a whole new light!

Just like during the eye of a hurricane, we had a short stretch of sun and clouds early this afternoon. Was a good time to stretch the legs from computer work and see what was worth shooting.

Yes, peonies are still in bloom and I have a few that are protected by umbrellas (thank goodness!)  A particular blossom on the edge of the umbrella must have been getting some splashback up from below, coating just a few petals with droplets. Illuminated from above, they now seemed to “glow”.

“Rain Glow” (Herbaceous Peony, Single, Unkown Heirloom Variety) Nikon D300, 200-400mm, 400mm, F/22, 1/40s, ISO 400, SB900 TTL Flash w/Gary Fong Lightspherre Cloud, -2.0EV

There wasn’t much color contrast between the peony and the background, so I decided to turn on the drama by converting to black and white (again, using Silver Efex Pro by Nik software). I also added a vignette and dodged the droplets to give them some additional punch.

Not bad, not bad at all.

3 Comments

  1. Wow!! Definite proof that flowers do not have to be in color all the time!

    How did the art show go?

    • Hi there Micheala! This is actually a shot from LAST year. After the art show, I realized I hadn’t categorized all my b&w shots properly so I went through them and corrected that. I forget that when I do that, you get notified of the update!

      In any event, thanks! 🙂

      The art fair was as expected…not as many people attending as prior years and most of them looking and not buying. I promise, email coming soon! I’m sooooo behind on everything! 🙂

  2. Yes, I realized that it was a shot from last year, but not until AFTER I commented LOL

    Take your time with that e-mail. These next couple of weeks will be busy for me, because we’re leaving for vacation August 6th. There’s so much to do and I haven’t done ANY of it yet!


Leave a Reply

