Skip navigation


It is amazing what a change of scenery can do!

While out shopping at my local nursery for some perennial plants to attract hummingbirds, I came across an interesting annual that I had never seen before. Something about it just grabbed me and after I paid for my purchases, I quickly returned with my camera to snap a few. I’m so glad I did!

Turns out it is a new genus from Western Australia that has already garnered attention and awards from the horticultural world for its color and drought tolerance. Now, that’s all well and good, but from a photographic standpoint, the spikes of hot pink tipped blooms just beg to be noticed!

“First Impressions” (Ptilotus exaltatus ‘Joey’, aka Pink Pussy Tail) Nikon D300, 70mm, F/5, 1/400s, +0.3EV, ISO 200

The light was great and the backgroud was filled with all sorts of coloful hanging plants which lended a decidedly impressionistic feel to the photograph. And, although I had used a fairly shallow depth of field, I added a vignette blur in post to really isolate the main flower.

Now, how cool is that? 🙂

Leave a Reply

