Skip navigation


The blossoms of ‘Sir Robert’ azalea demand respect. Oversized buds open to extraordinarily large and showy (and sometimes, even striped) flowers ranging in colors from blush pink to deep rose – all on the same plant! 

Pink-A-Boo!

“Pink-A-Boo!” (Robin Hill Hybrid Azalea ‘Sir Robert’) Nikon D300, 400mm, F/8, 1/200s, -0.7EV, ISO 400

Although many blossoms were damaged by the rain, this one flower tucked waaaaay underneath was intact. I actually didn’t think it was going to be a successful capture (I only took two shots), but I really ended up liking this sort of ‘bug’s eye’ view.

All that is needed is the hushed voice of an Australian narrator saying, “So, here we are…deep in the thicket…searching for the elusive ‘Sir Robert’ azalea…and, crikey! There he is!” 😀

2 Comments

  1. That’s pretty cool. I don’t think I’ve ever seen this type of azalea. I’ve got the feeling that the more I read your archives, the more money I’m going to want to be spending on plants! 🙂

    At first glance at “Sir Robert”, I had a quick mental flash to “Sir Robin” from Monty Python..”brave, brave, Sir Robin!” 😉

    • Thank you, Karma! I actually have two different azaleas that put out really interesting blooms – ‘Hilda Nibblet’ and this one, ‘Sir Robert’. You just never know what you are going to get which makes it very interesting! 🙂

      Ha ha! I guess Sixteen Acres will be sending me a thank you note?

      LOVE Monty Python!! (‘Always look on the bright side of life!’) We are more and more alike as time goes on! 😀


Leave a Reply

