Skip navigation


Today, I really wanted to post a wildlife photo since I hadn’t in awhile. Easier said then done, as all the usual critters (rabbits, chipmunks, squirrels and birds) seemed to have collectively decided to be uncooperative!

Lucky for me, this gal showed up!

Summer Colors

“Summer Colors” (Northern Flicker, Yellow Shafted Female) Nikon D300, 850mm (600mm w/1.4x teleconverter), F/5.6, 1/640s, -0.7EV, ISO 640

Granted, she was very high up in one of the distant white pines, but the 600mm lens was already set up and the 1.4x teleconverter was on so I quickly maneuvered the camera to hone in on her and was able to get fairly close. (Even so, I had to crop the image a bit in post to achieve a better composition).

I suspected she was some sort of woodpecker and a quick internet search confirmed it. Yep, correct on the woodpecker species as this is a Northern Flicker. I’ve seen other woodpeckers in our area but the Northern Flicker is a first for me today. I hope she comes around again! 🙂

4 Comments

  1. Northern Flickers are extremely shy birds. You’ll need the big lens to get a closeup of them in the wild.

    • Preachin’ to the choir there, Randy! Why does it seem that all the pretty birds are camera shy? I just got a 1.7x teleconverter so when I slap that baby on the 600mm lens and use my D300, I achieve a focal length of 1500mm. Not too shabby. I just need for the Flickers to do their part and show up! This is the adult yellow-shafted female and in April 2010, I saw the adult yellow-shafted male. So, there is hope!

  2. My…my, that’s a big lens you have. I hope you continue to enjoy taking photos of these critters and never lose your fire for photography. You do beautiful work and this amateur appreciates the tips and pointers I get from you pros who are kind enough to blog. Thank you and good luck.

    • Thank you, Randy! I am so blessed to have the equipment I do. This project has been very tough at times but I have seen my photography improve greatly. I’m just about nearing the end and I expect to continue blogging, but will ease off and not feel inclined to do so every single day. The photogs on my blogroll are excellent as well and they teach me something new every day. 🙂


Leave a Reply

