Skip navigation


Pink Hots

“Pink Hots” (Penstemon hybrid ‘Cathedral Rose’ aka, beard-tongue) Nikon D300, 400mm, F/10, 1/60s, -1.0EV, ISO 400″

So much for “plant it and they will come.” Sigh.

Ever since I purchased several plants specifically recommended to attract the hummingbird I was seeing about once a day in June, the hummer has been a no-show.

Just look at these flowers – how can the hummingbird resist??

And these aren’t the only “hummer approved” plants in my garden! I’ve got foxglove, mandivilla, rhododendron, bee balm, trumpet vine, lantana, butterfly bush, fuscia, rose of sharon, honeysuckle…it’s a veritable smorgasbord! I even have hummingbird feeders!

My suspicions tell me that the very large crop of red bee balm in my other neighbor’s garden may just be too much competition. Hmmm, perhaps it is time I set up surveillance and see if I’m correct!

One Comment

    • Lori Hitchcock-Mietk
    • Posted July 14, 2009 at 10:25 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I don’t know what is going on with the hummingbirds here either! I have not seen a single one at my feeder and we were so popular with them last year. Sigh, it’s sad 😦 I miss the cute little buggers!


Leave a Reply

