Skip navigation


Another gorgeous day! Not much time to snap photos as I am preparing for a family portrait shoot later this afternoon. So, it was up and out early to see what I could find.

I attempted to photograph these Plantation Lily (aka Hosta) flowers yesterday but just couldn’t seem achieve the results I wanted. Trying again this morning, I went to the other side of the plant where the flowers were being backlit by the morning sun. Much better composition, but no matter what angle, the busy background in orangey-rust tones (due to the bed of cedar mulch) was just not working. I’m talking serious yuck.

Not one to give up, I propped up a small black panel behind the blooms to elimate the problem. Perfect! No more distracting background and the flowers now really seemed to ‘pop’.

"Morning Bells" (Plantation Lily Blossoms) Nikon D300, 400mm, F/16, 1/30s, -1.0EV, ISO640

"Morning Bells" (Plantation Lily, aka Hosta) Nikon D300, 400mm, F/16, 1/30s, -1.0EV, ISO640

Click, click, click and it was off to the computer. In post, I decided to add a slight glow to warm the image as well as a vignette blur filter to further isolate the main blossom. I call that done. 🙂

Leave a Reply

