Skip navigation


For me, the most amazing thing about Clematis ‘Etoile Violette’ is it’s fragrance. It is unmistakeably the scent of Froot Loops cereal! Seriously – I’m not kidding!

The first season it bloomed, it took me awhile to figure out where the Froot Loops scent was coming from. Now, I don’t even need to ‘see’ the flowers to know this vine has ‘popped’ – my nose knows! 😀

Violet Star

“Violet Star” (Clematis ‘Etoile Violette’) Nikon D300, 200mm (18-200VR), F/8, 1/60s, -0.7EV, ISO 640, SB800 w/Gary Fong Lightsphere Cloud -0.7EV

Over the years, I’ve photographed this clematis from all different angles with pitiful results. Something just always seemed to be missing.

I simply love the combination of bright colors behind the deep purple petals. And, ironically, if you look closely, this photo contains all the colors of the cereal: green, red, purple, orange, yellow and blue! Coincidence? I think not! 🙂

Leave a Reply

