Skip navigation


Getting ready for a 3-day art show this weekend, I must be feeling particularly “artsy” as I decided to have some fun with today’s image. Believe it or not, this is an eggplant blossom!

“Thumbelina” (Eggplant ‘Black Beauty’) Nikon D300, 550mm (200-400mm w/1.4x teleconverter), F/5.6, 1/100s, ISO 400

I first noticed the eggplant flowers about 2 weeks ago while out in the vegetable garden collecting lettuce and snow peas to accompany our dinner. The next day, while photographing that first blossom, I accidentally broke it off the plant – arrgh! So, I had to (impatiently) wait for another bloom to arrive.

Fast forward to today. I was very careful not to make the same mistake as that first day and proceeded to shoot this lovely flower from all different angles. Right from the getgo, I knew I would name the image ‘Thumbelina’, as the frilly petals made me think of the stories of woodland fairies and for me, Thumbelina is the fairy queen.

Wanting to give the finished image an even more ethereal quality, I added a high contrast vignette black & white filter (courtesy of Nik software’s Silver Efex Pro) and then pulled back in the main colors of the petals and center.

Sigh, I love a happy ending! 🙂

Leave a Reply

