Skip navigation


Anyone who’s ever tried to photograph wild rabbits knows it ain’t easy. They are skittish creatures (to say the least) and when they are out and about, all they want to do is eat. Getting a shot where (a), the rabbit is looking at you, (b), the rabbit isn’t chomping on grass and (c), both ears are facing forward is quite rare.

“I’m All Ears” (Eastern Cottontail Rabbit) Nikon D300, 420mm (200-400mm w/1.4x teleconverter), F/6.3, 1/80s, -0.7EV, ISO 320, SB900 w/Gary Fong Lightsphere Cloud, -1.0EV

I actually had a little bit of help achieving this image from a rather unexpected source. As I watched and photographed this rabbit for some time (getting only the usual shots), an Eastern Grey Squirrel entered my frame and began chasing the rabbit.

‘Great…there go my chances today’.

Or, so I thought.

As the chase continued, the rabbit ended up closer to me and was also facing my direction! I zeroed in, gave a quick whistle to get the ears forward and boom! There’s the shot. Thanks much, Mr. Squirrel! 🙂

Leave a Reply

