Skip navigation


For some reason, the North American Green Frogs loveour swimming pool! We fished this girl out and she stayed put on the arm of the yellow Adirondack chair where I was sitting, so I decided to photograph her.

“Ribbit” (North American Green Frog) Nikon D300, 550mm (200-400mm w/1.4x teleconverter), F/5.6, 1/80s, ISO 400

As the sun was just about to dip below the horizon (a.k.a., the “magic” light), it cast this lovely warm glow across the frog, highlighting that really cool ring of metallic gold surrounding her eye.

Oh, and that gorgeous blue background color?? Well, that is courtesy of a pool float leaning up against our gas grill located about 15 feet away.

I couldn’t have staged this better if I tried! 🙂

5 Comments

  1. This is a great shot. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve tried to “stage” a photo only to have it blow up all over my image sensor! I find I am much happier with the spontaneous photos life gives us.
    Well Done.

  2. This is fantastic!! It made me smile! 🙂

  3. I love this! What a neat perspective too! You’re right, couldn’t have staged it better if you tried, the blue really adds the perfect touch. Everything is perfect if you ask me. Not only does it have an amazing little frog, the colors are beautiful and the perfectly straight lines are very pleasing to the eye. Very cool shot!!

    • Thank you, Cindy! You are very kind!

      I just love when I come across unique photo ops (and, when I actually stop to take advantage of them 😉 ) Meant to be, I think! 🙂


Leave a Reply

