Skip navigation


Still haven’t managed to photograph the hummingbird, but I did capture this Hummingbird Clearwing Moth as it was leaving one of the butterfly bushes!

"The Great Escape" (Hummingbird Clearwing Moth, Hemaris thysbe, on Buddleia davidii, "Nanhoe Petite Indigo", aka Butterfly Bush) Nikon D300, 500mm (200-400m w/1.4x teleconverter), F/5.6, 1/320s, -0.3EV, ISO 640

"The Great Escape" (Hummingbird Clearwing Moth, Hemaris thysbe, and Buddleia davidii, "Nanho Petite Indigo", aka Butterfly Bush) Nikon D300, 550mm (200-400m w/1.4x teleconverter), F/5.6, 1/320s, -0.3EV, ISO 640

Just like hummingbirds, these suckers are fast! Today was good practice for me for when the hummer does show up as I will need to use a much higher shutter speed to capture the hummer clearly.

All in all, a very cool shot…just wish it was sharper. Next time, I will be ready! 🙂

3 Comments

  1. Happened upon your lovely pic of a hummingbird moth! Had to share my very talented sister’s shot of a hummingbird moth in a lavendar bush, in Cape Town, South Africa.. I just love it.. http://flourishgardenclub.wordpress.com/2009/04/15/your-garden-entry-number-5/

    Hope you enjoy

  2. I found a hummingbird moth in my phlox when I did my 365 project in 2008. I had never seen or heard of such a creature so I considered it quite the find. I don’t think mine was the clearwing variety like yours, but it was pretty cool looking. Let me know if you’re interested – I’ll send you the link to the picture.

    • They are quite the unusual-looking moths. We’ve been seeing them more and more.

      Sure! Send the link along! Love to see it!


Leave a Reply

