Skip navigation


Yesterday, my wonderful husband surprised me with a new 105mm macro lens (Thanks, honey! :-D) and I just couldn’t wait to try it out! I’ve been doing quasi-macro photography with my large lenses, but with this lens, I can now get in close, really, really close

I went searching for a worthy test subject and found myself (once again) in my neighbor’s garden. This Chinese Wisteria blossom was certainly a pleasant surprise to find in August. Who says Mother Nature has to play by the rules?

“Drops of Amethyst” (Wisteria sinensis, aka Purple Chinese Wisteria) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/10, 1/250s, -0.3EV, ISO

I definitely need to practice since a macro lens behaves a bit differently than say, a telephoto lens, but so far, I am quite impressed. And, from what I read, I can get much closer than this, so look for really BIG small things to come! 🙂

Leave a Reply

