Skip navigation


Did you know… the black form of the Eastern Tiger Swallowtail is always female?? I didn’t, but it’s true! The males of the species are always yellow, but females can be either yellow, or black, or somewhere in-between. Who knew?

"Madame Butterfly" (Eastern Tiger Swallowtail, Female, Black Form) Nikon D300, 70mm, F/5.6, 1/160s, ISO 400

“Madame Butterfly” (Eastern Tiger Swallowtail, Female, Black Form) Nikon D300, 70mm, F/5.6, 1/160s, ISO 400

I was very excited to see this gal flitting around the butterfly bushes. We’ve seen so few butterflies this year that when any enter the garden, it is a welcome surprise!

Of course I took alot of the usual butterfly photos, but they were just okay. Ultimately, I felt this unique rear view of her perfectly formed wings deserved the spotlight.

Enjoy! 🙂

4 Comments

  1. WOW!!! That is amazing!!

    • This is probably, hands down, my all-time favorite butterfly shot! It wasn’t planned but rather a serendipitous capture that just makes a photog’s day. I wish I had MORE of those happen – LOL!

      Thanks! 🙂

  2. Of course you would have butterfly bushes too! Mine are looking quite robust this year; not quite in bloom yet but they will be soon. I bet yours will be spectacular as well.

    • Ha! And, I just bout THREE more for 2010! 🙂

      This is perhaps my favorite butterfly shot. I just love the DOF and the colors! 🙂


Leave a Reply

