Skip navigation


“Teed Up” (African Marigold) Nikon D300, 550mm (400mm w/1.4x teleconverter), F/16, 1/60s, -1.0EV, ISO 400

Many of my photos ‘happen’ while shooting something else.

Earlier today I was having more fun with the chipmunks (and missed a really cool shot of a grey squirrel and ‘munk facing off – grrr!) when I spotted this little bee warming his wings on the marigolds.

Hmmm, that could be something, I thought.

So, I snapped a few frames but, he really wasn’t doing anything particularly interesting and he wasn’t the “cute-little-bumble” type bee but rather the “nasty-yellow-jacket” kind. (Nothing against the yellow jackets, but folks tend to like the fuzzy-wuzzy bees best). 😉

Anyways, I moved my lens to scan the other marigold blooms and noticed that one of the flowers looked like a giant golden-orange golf ball sitting atop a tee.

Click, click, click and boom! Just like that we have today’s image.

If every day could go this well, that would be great!

2 Comments

  1. Hey, I thought you said you didn’t like marigolds?

    • Ha! You caught me! I had bought these late in the summer to fill in a dead spot. I guess I like marigolds when they are on CLEARANCE!! LOL! 🙂


Leave a Reply

