Skip navigation


With the torrential rains of Tropical Storm Danny falling, the last thing I wanted to do was head outdoors with camera in hand. 

Until I remembered what day it is.

Four years ago, Hurricane Katrina devastated the Gulf Coast, taking 1,800 lives and leaving more than one million people homeless. Puts a day of rain into perspective pretty quickly. So, with that in mind, I donned the gear and was determined to find a fitting subject.

The wind gusted and the rain struck my face as soon as I stepped out. I knew this wasn’t going to be easy and, as the ground squished under my feet, I prayed for some inspiration. Thankfully, God must have been listening since something divine directed my attention towards our small grey shed.

And there, it was.

Scaevola aemula – a common annual dripping with the Mardi Gras colors of purple, green and gold. 

Hallelujah!

“Remembering Katrina” (Scaevola aemula ‘New Wonder’, aka Fairy Fanflower) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/7.1, 1/80s, -1.7EV, ISO 640

 

Leave a Reply

