Skip navigation


Life isn’t alwayscute and cuddly. 😉

“Me and My Shadow” (Nursery Web Spider) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/6.3, 1/1250s, -0.7EV, ISO 400

Now, I wouldn’t normally photograph a spider (Eeeek!) but this little arachnid suspended above its shadow caught my eye. (Didn’t hurt that I was in a “flowers-are-boring” sort of frame of mind).

After a quick Google search, I am glad to identify it as a harmless Nursery Web Spider (Phew!).

Here, it appears larger than life but in reality, it is merely 1.5″ long and was definitely more afraid of me than I of it since, after a few clicks, it retreated to the underside of the leaf.

No matter. I got what I came for!

4 Comments

  1. Wow, you have had a really busy summer, Tracy. When I checked in to Google Reader I saw that I had missed 18 posts from you. Admirably productive. 🙂
    Nice portrait of this Nursery Web Spider. We’ve had them in the yard for a while and you observed their typical behavior. They usually do “hang” out under the leaves, so you got a nice shot with this one atop that leaf. Neat.

    • Ha! I wish, Steve! 🙂

      You will be seeing LOTS of postings from me but alas, they are merely updates to old ones. Due to the recent theft of sooooo many of my images, I’m having to go thru ALL the posts on my blog and updated them with a watermarked version of the image. Those of you using a reader then will unfortunately be getting these as new/updated posts. I hope you don’t mind!

      Thank you for your kind comments! When I saw this NW spider and the wonderful shadow on the leaf, I just knew there was a shot to be had there. 🙂

      • Well, you still have been busy but I am sorry that is for a bad reason. I should do the same although I am not aware of any images being stolen as of yet. But I am redoing my website and all the images will now have a watermark though them. Maybe I should start doing the same with the blog.
        Good luck with all your updating. I won’t mind the additional posts showing up in Reader as I will get to see what I’ve been missing. 🙂

      • Thanks for the condolences, Steve. I appreciate it. 🙂

        I didn’t realize the theft either before I began searching for my images. Hopefully, you won’t find any of yours stolen.


Leave a Reply

