Skip navigation


I love summer.

The sunshine, the heat, the music, the fruity drinks, barbecue’s with friends, outdoor movies, days spent swimming, wearing shorts and sandals, even, working in the garden…I love it all. So, when I know it is coming to an end, I get a bit sad. All I want to do is hang onto it for as long as I can.

I didn’t even feel like picking up a camera today, and didn’t for most of it. However, right before the sun was about to dip below the horizon, I caught a glimpse of the gaillardia blooms. They were almost glowing, set afire by the colors of the setting September sun.

"Summer Sunset" (Gaillardia 'Oranges & Lemons' aka Blanket Flower) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/14, 1/50s, -2.0EV, ISO 640

"Summer Sunset" (Gaillardia 'Oranges & Lemons' aka Blanket Flower) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/14, 1/50s, -2.0EV, ISO 640

I know I can’t stop the changing of the seasons, but, when those northern winds start to blow, one look at this sunny bloom and I will have my summer feeling once again!

2 Comments

  1. Yet another similarity between us; I, too, am a summer girl with all my soul. My family has even noticed the little bit of blues that come over me when summer is done. Each season has its beauty, but summer is my heart.

    • How funny! 🙂

      I think for me it is because I was born in June. Technically, that would make me a spring baby, but who’s counting! I like spring and summer. Fall is okay, but I get very, very sad. We just have so much fun outside in the warmer months. We can spend all day there. Winter just feels all cooped up inside. I love Christmas but after that, it could just as well go right into summer as far as I’m concerned! 🙂


Leave a Reply

