Skip navigation


The bumble bees certainly like Autumn Joy Sedum! I couldn’t decide which photo I liked best so, today, you get two!

In the first image, I love how the bee’s wings seem to be both translucent andiridescent as they catch the morning light.

“Iridescent Bumble” (Bumble Bee on Autumn Joy Sedum) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F6.3, 1/800s, ISO 400

In the second image, I lovehow the bee appears to be covered in soft, luxurious fur – looking more mammal-like than insect.

“Autum Joy Bumble” (Bumble Bee on Autumn Joy Sedum) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/13, 1/200s, ISO 400

 Either way, two great bumble shots! 🙂

2 Comments

  1. I’m suprised these guys let you get this close. The bumble bees don’t like me getting too close. Nice, especially the wing detail on the top one.

    • The bumbles could care less about me and my camera! They only get annoyed with me when I get in their way! LOL! I was really pleased with these and was also amazed by the detail I was able to achieve. Back in Sept, I hadn’t had the 105mm for very long so I was seeking out just about anything to photograph up close! 🙂 Thanks, Sean!


Leave a Reply

