Skip navigation


"Johnny Pump" (Fire Hydrant) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/5.6, 1/160s, -1.7EV, ISO 640

"Johnny Pump" (Fire Hydrant) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/5.6, 1/160s, -1.7EV, ISO 640

Eight years ago, right after the collapse of the second Twin Tower, I remember walking outside fully expecting to see thick black clouds of smoke in the blue sky. Of course, being 200 miles away in a different state, I didn’t.

But that is how real it felt.

Standing in the yard with the warm sunshine on my back, I just couldn’t wrap my head around the horrific events that were happening in New York City, Washington D.C., and Pennsylvania. My husband was in Boston, trying to get home, as most cities were shutting down. For a moment I wondered, ‘Is this it? Is this how it ends?’

Over the days and weeks, watching endless footage and news stories through tears and shock, we learned of the heroes who did what they do every single day. As people were escaping the burning towers, getting as far away as they could, firefighters were racing towards ground zero. I can’t even imagine the amount of courage it takes to do that.

I chose this image to honor and remember the 343 firefighters who lost their lives that day. May they rest in peace.

2 Comments

  1. Sadly this has become one of those days when folks remember where they were when it happened or when they heard it happened, like JFK’s death for an older generation, like the explosion of the space shuttle for ours, and of course now 9/11. My hubby, a police officer, was in the Federal Building in Springfield that day for a Federal trial! Yikes!

    • Yikes is right! It was such a scary day and when the anniversary arrives each year, I get the same feeling and just have to look towards the sky. Puts me right back in that place. It is good to remember such a tragic day for all those who lost their lives. I imagine for your policeman hubby, and for you and your family as well, it felt especially close to home.


Leave a Reply

