Skip navigation


"Purple Wave" (Calla Lily) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/3, 1/80s, ISO 200

"Purple Wave" (Calla Lily) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/3, 1/80s, ISO 200

I have a confession to make. I’ve never been able to grow Calla Lilies. I’ve received pots as gifts and when the blooms were spent and the leaves turned yellow and died, I didn’t know what to do. 😦

That’s all about to change.

I’m determined to make the container of gorgeous, deep purple lilies I just purchased last longer than one season!

A quick online search revealed the next step is to cut the foliage back to the surface of the dirt, then store the pot in a cool place for three months. After that, return the container to warmer temps, add bulb fertilizer and water sparingly until greens start to appear. Really? That’s all there is to it? Seems too good to be true, but if it means I’ll have lovely calla lily blooms to enjoy for years to come, I’m all in.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

