Skip navigation


“Make a Wish” (Smooth Hawksbeard Seed Puff) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/6.3, 1/320s, -0.7EV, ISO 640

Walking around the garden today I must have had “Horton Hears a Who” on my mind! (Well, I did just watch the movie on tv).

The late afternoon light was striking the “puff balls” of Smooth Hawksbeard (wildflower/weed) giving them a beautifully luminous glow. I really didn’t know how these were going to turn out, but figured, what the heck! 🙂

Just as I was setting up the shot, a gentle breeze began to blow, causing the release of some of the hairy seeds. Cool! It reminded me of when I was a child when we would pluck similar weeds (the dandelion), make a wish, then blow the seeds into the air. Sigh, those were simpler times indeed.

After cleaning up the puff a bit, I then came in for a reallytight shot. 

“Grand Finale” (Smooth Hawksbeard Seed Puff) Nikon D300, 105mm macro, F/9, 1/125s, -0.7EBV, ISO 640

How can something that is considered a weed be so amazing??

6 Comments

  1. Well, son of a gun, Horton gets around. I have to admit I consider them a pest but do appreciate their form and function.

    • Ay, that he does, Scott! I still remember the day I shot these. I had nothing to post and it was getting very late in the day so I schlumped outside really worried I was going to find nothing worthy. I seriously thought I was so very screwed and stopped to pluck some weeds and just then, from the angle I was crouching, the light hit the puffs just right. I love days like that! 🙂

  2. beautiful shots!!!

  3. Weeds can be cool! I’ve actually left some milkweed in place on purpose simply because they are neat to look at and photograph. I’ve heard that monarch butterflies are attracted to them as well – don’t know if there is any truth in that.

    • I agree! 🙂

      We used to have LOADS of milkweed in the wild areas of the yard. I don’t see as much now, so I am thinking of getting some milkweed seeds and scattering them in those areas. And, yes, milkweed is essential for Monarch butterflies as it is the only thing the larvae can eat!


Leave a Reply

