Skip navigation


“John Parker” (Lexington Militiaman Statue, Lexington, Massachusetts) Nikon D300, 48mm, F/14, -0.3EV, ISO 200

In Lexington today for the Chamber of Commerce’s Autumn Fine Arts & Crafts Festival, how could I not photograph the famous Lexington Minuteman??

I took all different angles, ultimately choosing this shot in silhouette, with the sun creating a really cool halo effect.

Once home, I did some research and was shocked to learn that, although the statue is locally referred to as “The Lexington Minuteman”, Captain John Parker was actually a militaman. Who knew?

The statue was sculpted by Massachusetts artist Henry Hudson Kitson and was errected in 1900. It is located on the edge of Lexington Battle Green, which is the site of the first battle in the Revolutionary War.

5 Comments

  1. Hi, I am a descendent of Capt. John Parker. My Grandmother was Marion Elizabeth (Parker)McCabe. Her father was Henry Parker who was the brother of Alton Brooks Parker. Alton was my Great Uncle. He was Cheif Justice of the N.Y. Court of Appeals or (N.Y. Supreme Ct.)
    Alton and Henry’s father was Josiah Parker who was the son of John Parker and the family line then goes back to Capt. John Parker. My great Uncle’s second wife Amelia Day Campbell Parker was a N.Y. Daughters of the American Revolution Historian. I am a disabled U.S. veteran. My son Andrew is also a disabled U.S. veteran. My father was a Captain in the U.S. Army Signal Corps. fighting in China during WWII. Dad was wounded and recieved the Purple Heart Medal. He worked for G.E. after WWII and was an electronic engineer assigned by G.E. to work with Wherner Von Braun the famous V-2 rocket scientist. This was the beginning of the U.S. space flights. I served in both the U.S. Navy N.A.T.O. in STANAVFORLANT and the U.S.C.G. I served during the Viet Nam conflict, the Cold War, and the War on Drugs.

  2. I would also like to compliment your skill in photographing the statute. A few years ago I visited Great Uncle Alton Parker’s former estate now owned by Barbara Patrick. On a large boulder there is a similar silhouette outlined in white on the Parker Estate formerly referred to as “Rosemount.” This likeness of a minuteman is mighty co-incidental on the Parker estate! One might even say it is a family memorial!!

    • My Kurt, you have QUITE the lineage there! How amazing for you! Your family has done this country proud with its service, so thank you!

      I appreciate the compliment on the photo. I was trying to capture something a little different than most and was very pleased with the end result. I am so glad a direct descendent approves! 🙂

      • Hi, I am Kurt’s twin brother and yes we are descendants of Captain John Parker. I would like to add that I would also like a copy of your photo and if Kurt will give you the exact location of the militaman engraved in stone would you see if you can get permission from the current land owner and get that photo as well and if you don’t mind can I obtain a free copy for putting you onto a historical opportunity no one else even thought about yet. You would be the first photographer to capture this historical image. It can not be coincidence that the engraved image bears a likeness to the statute and is located on or near Parker land! Alton’s property was located next to Ransom Parker’s property. I am still researching our family heritage. Can I have your permission to use your photos on any web pages I design now or in the future? I have just uncovered another interesting link to the original Captain Parker. That photo can bring you some fame for relieving the likeness and the city fathers of Lexington may have an interest in it’s historical significance.

      • Whoa there, Allen. You are asking quite a lot of a girl who simply photographed a statue! I am no historian so this type of photography isn’t my expertise. I’m afraid the historical significance of which you speak is completely lost on me.

        Matted prints of this image are available in two sizes. Details can be found here. I tend to not give open-ended, unlimited usage of my (copyrighted) images as you suggest. However, if you provide details of what you are looking for, I’m sure we could come up with an arrangement where you purchase a limited-use contract for a web-version of this specific image as long as you provide full credit back to me. Contact me via e-mail regarding this matter.

        I commend you on wanting to unravel your family’s heritage. We all desire to learn from where we come! Good luck!


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. By Bonded « Milkay Photography on 10 Nov 2010 at 3:03 pm

    […] a graphic designer (Robin Fisher of Take Flight Graphics) with a request to purchase one of my blog images to be used as a logo for one of her clients. […]

Leave a Reply

