Skip navigation


Some images are fine on their own. Others? Well, they need a little help. Take this lovely red ivy geranium, for instance. Overall, I was pleased with the shot of the flowers, but wasn’t so thrilled with the background. Sooooo, I decided to play a little with filters in my “digital darkroom”.

Red Velvet

"Red Velvet" (Ivy Geranium) Nikon D300, 70mm, F/4, 1/1600s, -0.7EV, ISO 400

Using the Antique Plate filter from Nik Silver Efex Pro, I was able to mute the tones and add a soft vignette all in one shot. However, now the entire image was monochromatic (not the look I was going for). Therefore, I then needed to pull the vibrant red color of the geranium blossoms back to the forefront.

Bingo! With just a few keystrokes (and a nice software package 🙂 ), I achieved the artistic look I wanted. Yay!

Leave a Reply

