Skip navigation


It’s funny – we live close to the coast but rarely make it to the beach anymore, especially with camera in hand. Needing something new to inspire, I loaded up the Jeep with my gear and headed over to Lynch Park to see if the seagulls would be willing subjects. However, I neglected to consult the tide schedule and ended up fairly close to high tide. With little beach to walk, I focussed my attention on a small outcropping of rocks, watching how the water was crashing, swirling and churning all around them.

White Water

“White Water” (Swirling Ocean Water) Nikon D300, 105mm, F/16, 1/6s, ISO 200

It’s so easy to get caught up in the minutia of life that you forget just how beautiful the ocean is. In our early years here, we used to sit for hours just watching the tide go in and out. It felt good to do that again and I will definitely be returning to this location!

2 Comments

  1. I think if I lived anywhere near the beach, I would have a hard time getting anything done for the hours I’d wile away sitting by the shore. I do feel I missed my chance to have made my home near the ocean, but that’s a story for another time. I hope that our retired life will bring us to the sea.

    • I really don’t go all that often. Not often enough, anyways. Too crowded in summer. I really liked my time alone at the beach in the colder months. No one around to walk into my photos!! LOL! 🙂


Leave a Reply

