Skip navigation


"It Was a Very Good Year" (Corks) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G macro, F/3.2, 1/15s, -0.3EV, ISO 640

September 1, 1994…the date we moved into our house, a mere twenty-three days after putting in the offer. That’s not to say our search wasn’t difficult. After eighteen months and well over 100 houses seen, it was good to be home.

I remember, as the moving trucks pulled away on that happy, sunny day, we sat on the front steps and wondered, “What the heck do we do now?” 

Somehow, we took it day by day, and here we are, 15 years later and the house is officially ours. 🙂

Anyone who has been inside has no doubt noticed the enormous wooden bowl in the dining room that is filled with corks. Serving as so much more than a conversation piece, each one is a reminder of parties, dinners and celebrations large and small, the good times spent with friends and family.

Therefore, I raise my glass and toast, “Here’s to many, many more – Cheers!

4 Comments

  1. Ours isn’t nearly so vast, but for a time my hubby was also saving corks as momentoes of special times. We don’t drink much wine or champagne, but I always thought it was sweet that he did that.

    • You would be very impressed with our collection! When I say the bowl is ENORMOUS, I’m NOT exaggerating!

      Sadly, I cannot say the same about us with regards to wine and champagne… 😉

      • Oh I’m not suggesting we are tee-totallers or anything! We just tend to lean more toward bottles of another kind – beer, Mike’s, etc! 😉

      • I’m not a beer drinker at all (yuck! hate the stuff!). Hubby likes beer and I really like Mike’s and Smirnoff Ice! 🙂


Leave a Reply

