Skip navigation


“Seriously, do I look like a turkey?” (Helmeted Guinea Fowl) Nikon D300, 105mm, F/9, 1/250s, -0.7EV, ISO 640

The plan seemed foolproof:

In honor of the Thanksgiving holiday, it would be brilliant to get a great shot of the pair of white turkeys I had seen roaming the pens at Russell Orchards in early October. So, while our turkey was roasting in the oven, we piled into the Jeep and headed off to the orchard.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a flock of white geese who decided immediately to surround and attack Jim. (No worries, he’s scrappy and quickly got away). We then made a bee-line for the animal barns and pens but only found ducks, goats, pigs, rabbits, chickens, roosters, horses and guinea fowl.

Hmmm, where, oh, where were the turkeys??

I looked at Jim. He simply raised his eyebrows and waited for it to sink in.

Processing…wait…no…c’mon…you don’t think…they wouldn’t…really??

Yep, a female staffer confirmed it. Figures.

Well, you can’t say I didn’t give it my best shot!

H A P P Y   T H A N K S G I V I N G !

2 Comments

    • Lori Hitchcock-Mietk
    • Posted November 27, 2009 at 6:59 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    You crack me up lil sis! I love reading your posts! Jim is kinda “scrappy” too…lmao!


Leave a Reply

