Skip navigation


I’ve been having a very hard time of late, something akin to “writer’s block.”  I go out and shoot for hours in this cold, wet weather and yet, come back with very little to show for it. Oh, I take lots of pictures, mind you, but when I load them up onto the computer, I am, let’s say, less than enthused? 

What my heart is missing are the flowers. From the perennials in the garden to the unknown varieties growing wild in the woods, I miss them all. And I miss what comes with them – butterflies, bees, birds, moths, crickets, etc. In the warmer months, they are all around me, feeding my passion to the point where my heart is racing and I can’t photograph fast enough! 

Sigh. I long for those days.   

"Stumped" (Snow-covered Tree Stump) Nikon D300, 70mm, F/11, 1/200s, ISO 640

Today, again, I spent hours in the snowy woods, photographing what appeared at the time to be interesting forms – from downed trees, to peeling bark, to stumps, to lichens, to shadows, etc. May have been some other photog’s dream but for me? Eh. I just don’t get it.   

Perhaps I am trying to hard, expecting too much. I know inspiration will return, it always does. Let’s hope for tomorrow!

10 Comments

  1. Spring is around the corner; it’ll be here before long. Then the flowers, moths, birds, etc. will be like “sup, we’re here to be photographed, where’s your camera?” 🙂

    Cool picture, BTW. I like the details in the shadows. *thumbs up*

    • You promise, Juan? You are very sweet. Love the “sup”, tho I now have an image of this reclining bee, clad in dark unglasses and bandana, leaning against the stamen of a flower speaking to me!

  2. This is a good time of year to work on composition and exposure. Winter is tricky for both.

    Take a drive to a new location which sometimes helps get the creative juices going.

    Another idea is to take just one lens like a 50mm prime which forces you to think much differently than with a zoom.

    Above all…have fun!

    • Thanks for the ideas and the encouragement, Scott! I truly appreciate it. I know there is a lesson for me in here somewhere, probably something yucky like patience and humility🙂

  3. I really dig this shot. The blue jay above it is also wonderful. I think Scott has some good ideas. Best of luck finding your muse, but your photos are still great. 🙂

    • Lori Hitchcock-Mietk
    • Posted January 13, 2010 at 8:45 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    I’d love to see some Cleo! Just saying 🙂

    • Hi Lori!

      Yeah, I’d tried to get a shot of her today but she wasn’t all that cooperative. If you think I’m not happy about the wintry weather, you can just imagine how my grumpy feline is taking it! 🙂

  4. I know the feeling, but it’s supposed to be 46 degrees on Friday – that is giving me hope. I don’t dare look at the weekend forecast for fear of disappointment.

    • Really??! 46 degrees – that’s a veritable heat wave! Woohoo! Can’t wait!:-)


Leave a Reply

