Skip navigation


Amazing what a raise in Farenheit can do for the psyche! Not that it was what one would consider warm outside today, it was at least above freezing and that was enough to lure me to the beach!  

The tide was going out and I was happy to see all sorts of birds congregating in the shallows: seagulls, Mallard ducks, Canada geese, and even, white swans (who, unfortunately for me, departed the scene as I was setting up my equipment – oh, poop).  

Flock of Seagulls

“Flock of Seagulls” (Seagulls in Flight) Nikon D300, 280mm (80-200mm w/1.4x teleconverter), F/11, 1/800s, ISO 500

At first, I simply took it all in. It was so nice to be out in the sun, watching the local wildlife go about their business. That is one of my favorite things to do and this group of birds were certainly entertaining! But, it was still fairly cold and I didn’t know how long I’d have the place to myself, so I got down to the business at hand.   

After shooting for quite some time, something startled the group and before I knew it, the entire mass of gulls were off and flying! Woo hoo! What a sight! 😀

7 Comments

  1. What can I say?… just that I love this photo!

  2. Great shot! Not much sunshine around here. Clouds and rain. Maybe this weekend.

    Yeah for a January thaw! I can see my driveway again!

    • Thanks, Scott! Yes, we’ve been given a slight reprieve in the weather but it only lasts through today. The sun is just making its way out now so I hope to head back down to the beach and see if the swans are back! BTW…my driveway still has ice…sigh.

  3. I hope you were wearing a hat. 🙂

    Nice photo. Coincidentally, Mauro and I got a few nice photos of a similar nature. I’ll post one next, once my tears dry up. 🙂

    • Hilarious! Actually, I was not but then again, I wasn’t underneath the flock – phew! This is when it pays to have a long lens!

      Need a tissue? 🙂

      • Naw, I’ll just use my sleeves when Mom’s not looking.


Leave a Reply

