Skip navigation


Another lovely day! Blue sky, sun shining and temps in the mid-40’s. Had to get out and enjoy it while I could since, alas, winter returns tomorrow. Sigh

The seagulls were, once again, the focus of my attention but this time I concentrated on single subjects that caught my interest. 

One gull was particularly brave, venturing closest to my lens.

Free of the Old Ball and Chain

“Free of the Old Ball and Chain” (Seagull) Nikon D300, 280mm, F/14, 1/320s, -0.7EV, ISO 400

While another couldn’t have been more remote, spending most of the time on a far rock. I was quite surprised when s/he decided to take flight! 

Spread Your Wings and Fly

“Spread Your Wings and Fly” (Seagull Taking Flight) Nikon D300, 310mm, F/7.1, 1/500s, ISO 400

I also took another stab at panning and was pretty pleased with this capture: 

Pan's Flight

“Pan’s Flight” (Seagull in Flight, Panning Technique) Nikon D300, 260mm, F/14, 1/160s, -0.7EV, ISO 400

All in all, a good day at the beach. Hopefully, nice weather will take me back there again – soon!

4 Comments

  1. I was also at a beach today, enjoying the almost spring like feel. I’ll post some of the shots tomorrow.

  2. Love these photos, especially the second one; I really like how you were able to capture the moment when the seagull was about to take flight…

    BTW, your seagull was as brave as mine, but I think yours is prettier.

    Awesome!

    • Thanks, Juan! That second shot was sort of a happy accident. Didn’t know I caught it until looking through the images later. I really like it when surprises happen like that.

      I like your ‘brave’ seagull – with the way s/he is looking at you from behind that rise in the sand makes me wonder what s/he was up to! Sort of has that ‘uh-oh, I’ve been caught’ look! 🙂


Leave a Reply

