Skip navigation


"Life on the Grid" (Salem Harbor Power Station) Nikon D300, 135mm, F/22, 1/200s, -0.7EV, ISO 640, Color Efex Pro B/W Conversion Filter

A departure from the norm for me today as I don’t usually photograph architectural subjects!

The Salem Harbor Power Plant just seemed particularly photo-worthy with its tall vertical stacks in stark contrast to the ocean water and sunset sky.

I did shoot in color but thought it played better in dramatic black and white.

What do you think?

8 Comments

  1. I have wanted to shoot that plant for awhile. Nice job.

    • Thanks, Lynn! It was just of those things…typically, I’d be shooting at the beach thinking, ‘why is that damn plant always in the way?’ but, this time, it was more, ‘hmmm, now that’s interesting’. I sort of like the fact that the wildlife could care less that it is there. For them, life goes on. It was nice for me to finally see it that way, too. 🙂

  2. To carry a camera is to look at things in a whole new way. I like your balanced composition and the bird adds to the harmony or clash between Man and Nature depending on how one sees it.

    I photographed a similar power plant on Lake Ontario last year. Then used HDR to create one of my favorite images of 2009.

    http://stphoto.wordpress.com/2009/09/30/hdr-fun/

    • Thanks much, Scott! I agree that the backlit seagull really adds to the shot. I had such a difficult time naming this image as I was trying to capture exactly what you stated: ‘the harmony or clash between man and nature’. I am not sure the name as is will stay. I’d like to come up with a better one!

      Your HDR image is fantastic! I haven’t played with HDR (yet) only because I don’t have any software to combine the images. I did shoot this subject at several exposures, and perhaps if I do acquire HDR software, I will try this technique and keep the image in color, as the sunset sky was pretty amazing.

  3. Black and white, my kind of photos!

    One of my favorite thing in this composition is the reflection in the water, and the seagull in flight.

    Awesome!

    • Thanks, Juan. I am really pleased with this one. I took a bunch and it was that seagull, for me, that made this one the winner. Love my birds!

  4. I think it’s a very “powerful” shot. 🙂

    This is the type of stuff I’m always on the hunt for. Nice capture. The shot of the birds above is also very beautiful. Well done. I have no talent for that sort of shot.

    • Thanks Dave, on both accounts. I think you, and other photographers I’ve been looking at lately, have definitely influenced me and opened my eyes (and lens) to look at new things! So, thanks again!


Leave a Reply

