Skip navigation


It has snowed here the last two days, and looking out my window now, I see the flakes are flying once again. Sigh.   

Much different from this morning when we actually had some blue skies and sun! I chose to head out early in search of snow-covered landscapes and found myself near the site of the old Johnson Christmas Tree Farm.   

Each year in early December we used to cut down our own christmas tree at the farm, which is conveniently located only 2 1/2 miles from our house. It was always a thrill trudging through the field, hacksaw in hand, looking for the ‘one.’ 

Alas, it was very sad for us then, when a few years back the farm was sold. 😦

“Winter Farmhouse” (Red Farmhouse at Johnson Christmas Tree Farm) Nikon D300, 60mm, F/22, 1/160s, ISO 640

Fortunately, the new owners did not sub-divide the beautiful acreage (which isn’t the norm around here as land is incredibly valuable), but instead, chose to build a gorgeous farmhouse on the site of the old barn and, are currently in the process of restoring the farm! Rumor has it they have already planted over 10,000 christmas trees on the site!   

Does this mean the farm will once again offer cut-your-own-christmas-trees in the not to distant future? 

One can only hope! 🙂

12 Comments

  1. You have snow and we have rain! lol. This is such a picturesque scene. I love that smooth freshly fallen snow. So pretty 🙂

    • As much as I am tired of snow, I don’t want to trade places with you! Altho, your water drop shots are awesome so I will have to keep that in mind the next time it downpours here! Thanks, Amber! 🙂

  2. That’s postcard gorgeous! It seems odd to see snow, considering I’ve yet to see much here in Toronto. All our lawns are bare and brown. Thank baby Jebus* for global warming. 🙂

    *Simpsons reference

    • Thanks Dave! Hmmm, maybe we can ship some of our snow up to you guys, then??

      I shot this house from quite a few angles, even tried out the fisheye. Then I took a few quick snaps as I was getting back into my Jeep and wouldn’t you know, those were the shots I liked the most! Go figure!

  3. I can hear the theme of “The Magnificent Seven” and visualize the Marlboro man hauling with his horse a big Christmas tree…

    Beautiful, beautiful shot!

  4. I love snowy scenes like this. The red barn absolutely pops.

    • Thanks, Brian! And thanks for stopping by…I see that you have started your own Project 365 and I wish you the best of luck! So far, you are doing great! You certainly have a better handle on speedlights than I ever will! 🙂

  5. That is absolutely gorgeous! I love the red against the white, and the clouds really add interest.

    • Thank you! I actually went back and shot this house again to achieve this result because on the first try, the sky was overcast providing zero interest. Proves that sometimes you have to try and try again!

  6. So lovely. I love red wooden houses and white snow.

    At first look I thought that the house was a church, because in my country many churches are just wooden and red.

    I love this photo.

    • Thank you! It is a lovely farmhouse and with the snow, is such a picturesque setting and so fitting for New England. Glad you like it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

