Skip navigation


"Reticulation" (Backlit Leaf, Fittonia argyroneura 'Red Vein') Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/22, 1/1.6s, -2.0EV, ISO 640, Color Efex Pro Paper Toner Filter

Well, something has. 

Been a bit under the weather the past couple of days. Nothing serious, just a sporadic fever that’s really messing with my ability for cognitive thought! 

With winter back with a vengeance, it is best for me to lay low before whatever is ailing me blows up into something more serious. Good thing there’s always something indoors worth photographing. 

What drew me to this leaf initially was the unusual color of the veins. However, when looking through the shots, I found I was more struck by the patterns and therefore, decided to go monotone.  Sort of reminds me of the blocking found on the reticulated giraffe, which is one of my favorite animals.

8 Comments

  1. It IS like a reticulated giraffe! Very cool… I’m loving the backlighting and curves. So elegant. Real sorry to hear about your fever 😦 Stay warm and drink lots of tea!

  2. Beautiful shot, again. To be honest, I didn’t realize there were more than one kind of giraffe. I used to skip that class. 😉

    Hey, hope you’re feeling better. Green tea with honey and lemon usually works. Best wishes for a speedy recovery. I’ve already dialled “9” and “1” on my cell phone. Say the word and I’ll type in the other “1” and get help your way lickety split.

    • Ha! Thanks, Dave! Yep, there are several kinds of giraffe but I imagine the reticulated kind is the one most people would draw (if pressed to do so).

      Thanks for the speedy recovery wishes. I’ll be okay. But, I will keep you posted just in case I need that other “1”! 🙂

  3. This shot is just beautiful!

    So to get the black background you use a negative EV and a strong flash light?

    I wish you get well soon!

    • Thanks Juan!

      No flash on this one – all backlit using natural sunlight through a window. But yes, I did use a black background and minused the EV to get a good balance between background and subject. Didn’t do much in post other than added the Color Efex Pro filter (Paper Toner #6, if I recall) to achieve the rich chocolate and cream tones. I think because I had giraffe-on-the-brain this just suited the image better than say, black and white!

  4. Beautiful shot Tracy. You could also use whiskey, in place of Dave’s green tea bag.

    • Thanks Lynn! Hmmmm, whiskey, now there’s a sure-fire way to cure what ails ya! 🙂


Leave a Reply

