Skip navigation


"Variegata" (Dracaena marginata 'Tricolor' aka Rainbow Tree) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/40, 15s, ISO 400

Last weekend, we bought some pretty cool-looking foliage plants to brighten the house during these less-than-colorful winter days. 

Dracaena marginata ‘Tricolor’ sports dramatic  spikes in stripes of green, cream and reddish-pink. Shot at close range, form and color take center stage – looking less now like a houseplant and more like abstract art. 

I can’t help but think this image might be a metaphor for how caged in I’ve felt these last few days.   

However, I’m sure life behind real bars is not nearly this colorful! 

4 Comments

  1. Lovely dracaena photo. I like the black background. It makes the color stand out. I admired your “Winter White” a few days ago. You are resourceful! It takes an eye to find photos like these. I see that both images were taken with your 105mm lens. Hopefully, that will be my next acquisition.

    • Thank you, morningjoy (my, you must be a happy person!) 🙂 The 105mm was a gift from my husband in late summer and I’ve really enjoyed it! I could shoot macro every single day! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Beautiful!

    You have such an artistry… it’s enviable.

    • It is amazing Juan what you can find around the house to photograph when forced to! I knew we bought those plants for a reason! 🙂


Leave a Reply

