Skip navigation


When I am bored, I do crazy things like slap a 1.4x teleconverter on my 105mm macro lens so that I can get in really, really close. Yeah, I’m a wild woman. 🙂 

I honed in on all sorts of items today, from naturals like ice crystals and a dried sweet gum seed pod to the silly like Froot Loops cereal and the bristles of my electric toothbrush. It was all good fun, but nothing was yielding WOW.  

"Red Planet" (Sunlight Through Amber Marble) Nikon D300, 150mm (105mm F/2.8G Macro w/1.4x teleconverter), Manual Settings: F/25, 1/4s, -1.0EV, ISO 500

At some point I noticed this really old marble sitting on the window sill.  

Hmmm, I thought.  

I photographed the heck outta this marble! From all different angles and on different surfaces and backgrounds. Then, just as the sun began to set, its rays lit up the marble, illuminating the interior detail and sending a flare to the opposite side. Eureka

Outta this world, man. Outta this world. 🙂

22 Comments

  1. its brilliant, sounds like you had loads of fun.

  2. WOW is right!
    I’m so proud of myself, because I knew right away that it was a marble…. and that’s something else I’ve been meaning to try forever, I just need to get myself a pretty marble collection.

    • Thank you, Michaela and Bravo! on you knowing what it was before you read the caption.!I’m sure you have a few lost marbles lying around, hmmm? 😀

  3. A beautiful marble planet.

  4. Great idea and excellent realization!

    • Thank you for visiting Tomas and for such a lovely comment! 🙂

  5. All these macro shots I am seeing lately. I wasn’t interested in getting one but am starting to get the urge thanks to brilliant work like yours, Tracy. My credit card company will thank you one of these days. 🙂

    • Ha! You’re funny Scott. It took a loooong time for me to get a macro lens (my husband finally bought it for me in August because I had been talking about it for so long!) I warn you, they can be addictive! 🙂

  6. Mastah, your photos don’t stop to amaze me!

    • Lori Hitchcock-Mietk
    • Posted February 1, 2010 at 6:29 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    This one is awesome! Or should I say wicked awesome! Nobody around here ever says that! Oh, yeah I texted the surgery date to you last week and you didn’t text back so now I’m thinking you probably don’t have texting, lol 🙂 It’s March 2.

    • Thanks, Lori! Yes, you are correct in that I do not have texting. Thanks for the update. I’m sure we will talk before then. Love you! 🙂

  7. This is out of the world!

  8. What a stunning shot. I really love this one. Nice work, Tracy.

  9. That is absolutely beautiful! I love macro shots. You’ve done it very well here. I hope to pop in from time to time to catch more of your photos.

    • Thank you so very much for the wonderful comment and for stopping by! You are welcome anytime! 🙂

  10. Thanks for sending me the link for this supermacro shot.
    I like the way you caught the light close to the edge of the globe. But close INSIDE!
    I have just bought a 100 mm f/2.8L macro.
    I’m happy for all the inspiration I can find here on your blog Tracy.

    • Aw, thanks so much, Carsten. You are very sweet! 🙂 Macro lenses are addictive! You’ll see!


Leave a Reply

