Skip navigation


The American Robin is commonly associated with the coming of spring. About two weeks ago, I came across an enormous flock of them feasting in the ornamental cherry trees at Lynch Park. However, when I began to photograph the birds, a family with dogs cut the session short as the entire flock abruptly left the scene. Sigh.

I went back last week but no robins were to be found. Damn.

Fast forward to today. Even though the windchill put our temps into the low-20’s, I ventured over to the park to see what I might find, figuring the bitter temps just might keep dog-walkers away. 🙂 The robins were back (!) and I spent as much time as I my bones and fingers would allow, inching closer and closer to the flock.

You need to be patient while shooting wildlife, watching their movements as to what they might do next, all the while thinking about good composition and changes in light.

I snapped a whole lotta photos that I still need to process but this particular image is one where all the elements came together.

On the Fence

“On the Fence” (American Robin, Male) Nikon D300, 340mm (80-200mm w/1.7x teleconverter), F/9, 1/320s, +0.7EV, ISO 500

Does this mean spring is on its way? Not likely, but at least we can pretend. 😀

Enjoy!

10 Comments

  1. Low 20’s!! brrrr… So glad you went back and found the robins. A beautiful comp here. The robin looks deep in thought 🙂

    • You don’t know the half of it! Thanks! I’d say he’s thinking…”Damn, where’s spring?” 🙂

  2. It’s OK, spring IS on its way.. it’s just a little slow 😉
    Cute photo, I like the composition a lot!

    • Easy for you to say, Michaela! I think spring went to the Bahamas! 🙂

  3. Love this!
    It’s funny, how these flocks come & go. A couple of weeks ago, there was a swarm of robins in my neighbor’s crab apple tree one morning. And then – poof — they flew off. And I haven’t seen them since. Maybe I should go looking…

    • Thanks, Chris! Hmmm, maybe it’s just one big rotating flock! 🙂

  4. I like this photo a lot! The blue colour is very good at bringing out the little sweet robin.

    • Thankk you Birgitte! I snapped so many of the robins that day and was actually pleasantly surprised at this particular shot. Just goes to show you that you just have to keep on shooting!

  5. Still waiting for the first robin to show up here. Soon….I hope.

    • By the size of the flock I saw, I think thery are all here! 🙂


Leave a Reply

