Skip navigation


Although I’ve been back from my southern vacation since late Monday night, I am pleased to report there will be many more colorful posts! We schlepped our cameras everywhere and found much photographic inspiration in the land of green and sunshine. It will simply take some time to go through all the media cards and decide on those worthy of posting. (And hey, if a side bonus is that I don’t have to go out in the freezing temps, then so be it! 🙂 ) 

Seeing that it is overcast and snowing outside, today’s image just had to be vibrant! I don’t think it can get more vibrant than this delicious purple pansy!

“Ultraviolet” (Purple Pansy) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/6.3, 1/15s, -0.3EV, ISO 640

Not much finishing required here, but I did clean up some of the pollen granules so this pretty flower wouldn’t appear as though it had just finished consuming a powdered sugar donut! 🙂

8 Comments

  1. Mmmmmmmmmm……..Donut……

  2. LOL, I was thinking “yum, donuts!”, too!

    Beautiful photo, and definitely colorful and vibrant. Can’t wait to see more!

    • Ha! I guess you and Jim are on the same wavelength today. What…no more white Reese’s PBC’s left??? 🙂

      Thanks Michaela! Oh, and there will be more! 🙂

  3. You’ve captured the velvetiness of the petals!

    • That is what I love most about photographing flowers – discovering all the small details and beauty!

  4. This is simply gorgeous! You’re right – so vibrant! It makes me wish for Spring NOW so I can go out with my macro lens and start snapping photos of the flowers we hope will grow from the hundreds of bulbs my husband planted last fall.

    • Thank you, Jan! Again, I am so with you! Where for art thou, spring? I had to buy some potted tulips this week just to have some living color inside! 🙂


Leave a Reply

