Skip navigation


With the week I’ve had, I really could use a little oooh and aaaah time. The nightly fireworks display at EPCoT is one of our favorite things to see and when most people are quickly exiting the park after the show, we find it is the perfect time to leisurely stroll around the World Showcase Lagoon and unwind.

 

“Nightlights” (Illuminations, Reflections of Earth, EPCoT Fireworks, Nikon D300, 34mm, F/11, 2.9s, ISO 400

 

No crowds, no worries, happy music playing…just thinking about it makes me smile. It really is the happiest place on earth! 🙂

7 Comments

  1. Oooooh and Ahhhh was exactly what I was thinking when I saw the picture. It turned out beautiful.
    I’m surprised your ss was only 2.9 seconds, I’ve had to expose for much longer to get something really nice. Or maybe it’s just that Disney fireworks are so much better than the ones I’ve dragged my camera to.

    • Thanks Michaela – you are very sweet! I know it isn’t my best photo, but it was the best I could do yesterday. 🙂 When I shoot fireworks, I use “bulb” mode and a remote clicker so that I can watch and control the shutter duration. Since the colors and brightness varies greatly between each burst, you have to sort of watch and learn, lest you underexpose (and get a blah image) or overexposed (and most of the fireworks part is blown out). That night was supposed to be practice for the last night when, ultimately, I decided to NOT take the camera to the park and we had the most excellent view and no crowds! Aaaargh!

  2. Wow, amazing shot, Tracy. I’m dying to try my hand at fireworks when I finally get a new camera with bulb mode. My wee point & shoot has a fireworks mode but there is little in the way of user control.

    • Thanks, Dave! I’ve also done fireworks with perhaps a 2s or 3s manual delay. It is just hit or miss when you do that because of the difference in the luminosity of each firework. Have you played with the fireworks mode at all?

      • Actually, I have, but not with fireworks. I’ve experimented with it during night photography, just to see if I could get enough light to illuminate a scene. Because my cameras has little by way of manual settings, I’ve done a lot of experimenting to try to trick it into doing what I want. For instance, it I want to freeze snow flakes in the air I use the sports mode because that’s the only way I can get a shutter speed fast enough to achieve this. It’s all quite silly and frustrating. I really need to upgrade but I want to hold out until the new models are released in the next month or so.

  3. This is lovely.

    I am still trying to get a decent fireworks shot at WDW. I either don’t keep my shutter open long enough or I there’s too much smoke due to wind or other conditions. Some day!

    • Thanks Scott. Their fireworks are not easy to photograph! The bursts vary so much in placement as well as brightness that it takes practice to really figure it all out. I was glad to get at least one decent shot! The smoke is an issue with their fireworks. We always watch the flaming torches to see the wind direction and plan our location accordingly. It think it is more luck than skill sometimes! 🙂


Leave a Reply

