Skip navigation


"After the Nor'easter" (High Tide Waves Crashing Against Lynch Park Seawall) Nikon D300, 50mm, F/16, 1/320s, +0.3EV, ISO 640

What the hell is WRONG with me?

That is the question I should have been asking when I jumped off the sea wall, at high tide after a Nor’easter, to get this shot!

Fact of the matter is, I tried all conceivable angles from atop the wall and nothing was properly capturing the power of the incoming tide. The sight was amazing; the sound, deafening.

So there I was, faced with (really) the only choice. All I had to do was jump. 

Yes, I got completely soaked.

Yes, the water was freezing.

And, YES, it was TOTALLY worth it! 😀

22 Comments

  1. Am I going to have to start worying about what u r willing to do to get a good shot?

    • Nah, no worries mom. I wasn’t in any real danger (I am a great swimmer) and besides, my wingman was close by! 🙂

  2. wonderful.
    the lengths we are willing to go to to express ourselves is stunning

  3. Great shot, Tracy; as is the one below. Sounds like you’ve had some serious weather down there.

    • Thanks, Dave. Yes, it has been crazy. We never know what the day will bring.

      Aren’t we living up to our ‘lazy’ self lately combining comments on multiple posts in one? 😉

  4. Was this on Friday or Saturday? I finally got to a beach today, but it was not this dramatic.

    • This was Saturday morning (approximately, 10:20am), peak of the morning’s high tide. The sun broke through the clouds for a short bit and it wasn’t too long after this that my wing man strongly suggested I get myself out of the sea’s way! 🙂

  5. For me, low tide, farther south, gray day – before the next storm hit.

    • Sorry to hear that. I know how much you wanted to see crashing waves… 😦 As a photog, timing and luck are everything!

  6. The clouds, the sea, the wall, the tree, the rocks, the power plant, winter island, the powerful Energy – thank you for capturing this moment. Peace, Sonnie

    • Thank you and you’re welcome, Sonnie. Glad you liked it! 🙂

  7. You really are crazy! No way would I have jumped into the freezing cold water! But those ARE really cool waves. I like the rocks in the foreground, too.

  8. Haha, you sound like me. I nearly destroyed my gear jumping into the waves like that! It’s always worth it though. Totally!! Oh the adrenaline, the adventure, and of course THE SHOT! Love it. Great drama you’ve captured here with that powerful water and foreboading sky 🙂

  9. I’m sitting here laughing out loud at this post.. JUST the kind of thing I would do! Truely you are a gal after my own heart and a kindred spirit ! Most excellent that you got a great photo result for the cold paddle efforts- God smiled!

    • I’m soooo glad you can relate! Didn’t I say we were kindred spirits? 🙂 Thank you so very much!

  10. Love this post! LOL

    • Thanks! After doing something like that, it is actually cathartic to write about it for those who understand! 🙂

  11. I would have done the same thing too 🙂

    In 2006 I waded through Peabody Square up to my knees in the flood. My legs were completely numb instantly but it was so worth it.

    Great shots.

    • LOL! So, a kindred photographic spirit, huh? 🙂 The things we will do to GET the shot!

      Thank you, Kerry! To took a peek at both your photo blogs – wonderful stuff! You are very talented and blessed with such a beautiful family! 🙂


Leave a Reply

