Skip navigation


This one is for my sister, Lori, who embodies more courage, grace, spirit, determination and beauty than I’ll ever know.

"Pink Warrior" (Shark Eye Shell with Pink Ribbon) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/5.6, 1/20s, ISO 640

She has been one of my biggest supporters, always encouraging, and now, is teaching me, by example, to face life head on and fight, no matter what. Today, she is undergoing the knife after making one of the toughest decisions any woman should have to make. My thoughts and prayers are with her.

Love you, Lori!

26 Comments

  1. I click to give free breast cancer mammograms to underprivileged women every day. I send Hugs, Best Wishes and much Strength for your sister as she faces this massive obstacle in her life, she is lucky to have so much love and support from her family. Fight on Lori, you will find inner strength that you didn’t know you had. My thoughts are with you. …kiwidutch.

    • Thank you so very, very much, kiwidutch. I am sure when she gets around to catching back up with the blog, she will be touched by your words. I know I am. 🙂

  2. Good luck to your sister today, and a speedy recovery. Having a supportive family makes all the difference.

    The photo is gorgeous. Are you giving her the shell?

    • Thank you so very much, Michaela. I wish her the same as well.

      Hmmm, I hadn’t really given it any thought, but if she would like it, then yes, I would most certainly give it to her! This shell was sitting on the seawall the day I jumped off to get that shot of the high tide waves. Didn’t even know then that this was why I picked it up. It just made sense to photograph it this morning! (Shhhhh, don’t tell but I was planning on sending her a matted print of today’s image…) 🙂

  3. Good luck to your sister! God bless her and you both. 😉

    • Thank you, Babs. Much appreciated. I heard news that the surgery went very well. Still waiting for an update on how she did in recovery.

  4. Lovely image & sentiment. Sending Lori good thoughts whenever she might be.

  5. Beautiful tribute to your brave sister. She sounds strong…ugh…what a horrible thing to go through. My thoughts are with you all. The matted print sounds like a nice gift 🙂

    • Thank you, Amber. She is strong, stronger than I think I could be.

  6. What a touching image and beautiful.
    I will add her to my prayer list tonight. We women do not crumble…we grow stronger…trust that you and she will have the strength to endure whatever comes. XO

    • Thank you – this is so sweet of you to do! I am deeply touched by your words as I am sure she would be. 🙂

  7. what a wonderful testimony to your sister… this is lovely. best wishes to her.

  8. This week is a tough one for many of the bloggers I follow. Best wishes to your sister. May her spirit rise up and defeat what has invaded her. A strong and loving family will do wonders during her fight. Smile and laugh and enjoy time with her. It’s the most precious gift of all.

  9. Sending good thoughts & best wishes for a speedy recovery!

  10. This is an awful sickness! I wish your sister a fast recovery, and you the strength to support and comfort her.

    Your photo is very nice.

    • Yes, yes it is. My sis is doing very well. She is so strong and her family is remarkable.

      Thank you, giiid! 🙂

  11. Sisters are precious. I feel you are to each other and this closeness will surely help your sister get through these difficult times. Many positive thoughts for both of you. Your picture says a lot…

    • Thank you, Isa. Got word that she is home now and doing very well. I very much appreciate your kind words!

  12. Tracy,
    This image is beautiful! Just like you! I am doing good and I know that I will get through this because of all of the well wishes, thoughts and prayers that are wished for me. I am truly touched and amazed by all the love and kindness that is displayed here:) Love you very much and Lon says to tell Jim “thanks for offering to drive the getaway vehicle”
    Love,Lori xxxoooxxxooo

    • Lori – Sooooo glad you are home and doing well! Your strength is amazing! I love you, too and know, you will be back in the game in no time! Hugs and kisses back! 🙂
      p.s. Jim says, ‘anything for you!”

  13. All my best wishes for your sister Tracy.
    It is so good to know that she is doing well.
    Scott Thomas expressed what to do with that disease: Kick it in the ass! (My modification)
    Strong support from friends and family is needed to fight the anxiety that follows the disease as a shadow.

    • Thank you, Carsten. She is doing well (see her post comment) which is a relief, indeed! I third your and Scott’s sentiments! Your words are much appreciated! 🙂


Leave a Reply

