Skip navigation


I wasn’t planning on going to the beach today, but yet, that single thought kept pushing its way forward in my brain until I eventually relented and went. As I walked around, the first thing I came upon was a dead Harbor Seal nestled amongst the piles of seaweed scruff on the beach.

(Note: Harbor Seals, dead or alive, are an extremely rare sighting in my area). 

Damn. Is this some sort of cruel joke? This surely cannot be why I am here!

"Sunset Stripes" (Eastern Pale-bellied Brant Goose) Nikon D300, 340mm (80-200mm w/1.4x teleconverter), F/10, 1/125s, -0.3EV, ISO 320

Thankfully, it wasn’t. 🙂  

As I looked out into the water, I noticed a flock of waterbirds swimming and diving for eelgrass. And although they looked a bit like miniature Canada Geese, my gut told me they were something new. So, under the motto of ‘shoot now, identify later’, I snapped away, hoping to capture the mystery bird along with the lovely striped reflections of color in the deep blue water. 

Back home, the birds were easily identified as the Eastern Pale-bellied Brant Goose, a small waterbird about the size of a Mallard that overwinters along the Atlantic coastline. 

Cool! Gotta love a fruitful outing! 🙂

10 Comments

  1. Tracy, I like your bird and the reflections, but I was going to post a duck in river reflections next. Hmmm, maybe I’ll wait.

    • Thanks, Lynn! Ah, go ahead and post your pic… nice to see life these days! 🙂

  2. I really appreciate the way you see things!

  3. I love the look of the water here! I think this photo would have been a success even without the bird.

    Poor harbor seal 😦

    • That thought crossed my mind as well when looking through the images (of course, I didn’t think to take a shot of just the water as I was so excited about the unkown birds – argh! ). I agree the water makes it. You are very perceptive! 🙂

      Sigh, I thought about that seal all night long. I just hate to see things like that. 😦

  4. What a wonderful shot !!!

  5. I just love ducks. The water in this image is just absolutely stunning!

    • Thanks, Babs! It is actually a goose, but to tell you honestly, I don’t know the distinction between them and ducks!


Leave a Reply

