Skip navigation


"Pink Parasol" (Cyclamen persicum aka 'Persian Violet') Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/11, 1/13s, -1.0EV, ISO 400

If you’ve been watching the news then you are fully aware the northeast coast has been getting hammered with rain! 

Today is day three of the wet weather and most areas are completely flooded. Sigh. Wasn’t the record snowfall this winter and the two recent Nor’easters enough punishment? 

Not in the mood to get soaked, I picked up a lovely houseplant to brighten my day – pink, of course! 😀

Is it mere coincidence the unfurling buds of Cyclamen kinda look like miniature parasols? 

Hmmm, I think not! 😉

15 Comments

  1. At least it’s not snow, right? Which is worse for you?

  2. Not far away and hoping the forecast for sun tomorrow is correct, thank you for posting a beautiful flower.

    • Thank you and you’re welcome! Still overcast and windy this morning, but I can see the sun! Hooray! 🙂

  3. Hope you get relief soon. It is sunny and warm here a few hundred miles west of you.

    The lighting is beautiful in this photo.

    • Thank you, Scott – I can see the sun this morning! Oh, how I’ve missed it!

      It is funny that you mention the lighting. I was so desperately trying to use natural lighting from a window, but the quality on such a dismal day was really poor. So, in frustration, I grabbed the pot of flowers, brought it into my office and flicked on my daylight desk light. I had to switch my camera’s white balance to ‘Day White Flourescent’ to compensate. Why am I admitting all this? Simply, I hate having to manipulate the light so much (just too much work!) and I laugh at the thought of if someone was watching me creating the image they would think me insane. We have this illusion that studio photos are created in a huge space with sophisticated lighting. Nope. Here’s reality: messy office, cramped space, single desk light. Frustrated photographer! 🙂

  4. That is really pretty. The light makes it – lovely petal textures.

    • Thanks, Tom! I thought so too and it was well worth the light manipulation!

  5. Oh yeah, I’ve been watching your crazy weather on the weather channel 😦 Glad you picked up this pretty pink violet. Sure is pretty. You captured it so beautifully! 🙂

    • Thanks, Amber! The weather was crazy – rained for 3 days straight! Some areas got 10 inches of rain – damn. I think we came in around 6 inches total which is still impressive. Funny thing about Cyclamen, the blossoms are typically prettier as unfolding buds than when they are flowers. They open up and completely bend straight up. Very strange. But, sometimes, the flowers make really crazy, sorta wind-blown looking structures – I’m keeping my eye out for that! 🙂

  6. I hope you get a nice long break from the rain soon!

    Cyclamen are probably one of my least favorite flowers. Why? Because I used to work as a florist (way back in Germany) and at one point we had sooooo many of these in the store that I got sick of seing them. BUT, this is really beautiful.

    • Thank you, Michaela. We did. Tues – Sat have been lovely weather! But, alas, more rain is coming and will start Sun night and last through Wed. Bummer.

  7. Amazing shot, Tracy. I love the pitch black background. I also notice you finally added me to your blogroll. Boy, that took long enough, eh? 🙂

    • Thanks, Dave!

      You’ve actually been on the blogroll all along…for some reason I had you under “Big Green Door (the lazy photographer)”. I JUST changed it today to “the lazy photographer” ‘cuz I was looking through the list and couldn’t figure out WHY on earth you were “Big Green Door”. I am guessing that is simply one of your images and I mistook it for your blog name! LOL! Oh, well, I FINALLY got it right! No worries! 🙂

      • Coincidentally, all the school kids called me Big Green Door when I was a boy. 😉


Leave a Reply

