Skip navigation


“Giddyup!” (Bouncy Horse at Stage Fort Park) Playground Series (#11), Nikon D300, 38mm, F/5.6, 1/500s, +0.3EV, ISO 250, ‘Old West’ Toning Action

Who, as a child, didn’t dream of having a pony??

I know I did and probably at one time or another, begged my parents to get me one.  A smart, gentle horse that would live in my room (shared with my sister) and graze in the backyard.

Thankfully, my parents knew better and with five children, plus a dog and a cat, they clearly had their hands quite full!  

Still, all I could think about is what a hit I would be when we’d play cowboys and indians! Riding in on my trusted steed, good would always conquer evil and the day would ultimately end with us riding ‘happily ever after’ into the sunset.

Aaaaah, such is a child’s view of the world. 🙂 

I doubt kids play cowboys and indians anymore (not exactly politically correct now, is it?) and even if they wanted to, I’m guessing it would most likely be a video game version with all-too-realistic graphics. Yuck.

Sigh, not me. I’ll take the bouncy horse every time. 🙂

14 Comments

  1. My kids used to love the bouncy horse … and duck… and dolphin… at our old playground.

    And just so you know… all has not been lost, play-wise. Yesterday I over heard girls upstairs playing “greek gods & goddesses”! Unusual? Certainly. Odd? Maybe. Encouraging? Definitely!

    🙂

    • Wonderful, Chris! So glad to hear imagination is still alive!! Hooray! 🙂

  2. Very cool stuff. Do like that treatment you are using for these old playground rides and slides. It takes me back to the days when life was much easier playing with my friends on these “unsafe” and “dangerous” playthings.

    • Thank you, Scott! What started out simply as an interesting treatment (was going for that ‘nostalgic’ feeling on that very first posting before I even dreamt a series was in the making) has turned out to be a godsend as, you are well aware, images taken on different days, at different times, under different lighting conditions anc lead to inconsistencies in tone and color. The ‘Old West’ treatment is really helping to keep the series as cohesive as possible with just minor tweaking on my end. I am so glad you like it and that my images and (hopefully) story telling are hitting the mark. Makes my day! 🙂

  3. So … here’s what Rupe’s thinkin’:
    ‘Self-portrait’ on one of these soon-to-be-historical playground pieces.

    Ruprecht <——— this guy ….. he’s good

    Rupe awaits your answer with bated breath …..

  4. Sara would jump on that bouncy horse SO fast! She does play “cowgirl” from time to time, with her stick horse and cowgirl hat that she got at a restaurant two summers ago (the hat, not the horse.)

    • Oh, how cute! Again, I am glad to hear it isn’t a dying art! 🙂

  5. I used to like those bouncy horses, but my favorite was always the swings.

    • Hey, me too! Oh, and the see-saws, don’t forget the see-saws. (And maybe the merry-go-rounds, too.) 🙂

  6. Horses are my favorite animal ever since I can remember. I also begged for a pony, and I promised my parents that if they ever give me one, I would share my bed with my pony.

    Didn’t work out.

    • Ha! Well, now that you are all grown up, you can get one for yourself! 🙂

  7. You are SOOO right. Funny, we were just having that conversation recently…about no one playing cowboys and indians and instead playing too graphic video games. Oh well… I LOVED these springy ponies. They were so much fun 🙂 Love too how you captured and processed this one!

    • Thanks much, Amber! I am so happy the series is striking the heart of so many! 🙂 Very reassuring!


Leave a Reply

