Skip navigation


Sunny Saturdays are always good for monkeying around! 🙂

“Slinky Monkey” (Monkey Bar Ladder with Shadow) Playground Series (#14), Nikon D300, 60mm, F/5.6, 1/800s, ISO 200, ‘Old West’ Toning Action

This was the closest I could find to the monkey bars of my childhood and it won’t be around much longer as funds are being raised to replace all the old equipment at this playground with one of the new configured play structures.

“M is for Monkey” (Monkey Bars Shadow) Playground Series (#15), Nikon D300, 26mm, F/7.1, 1/640s, +0.3EV, ISO 200, ‘Old West’ Toning Action

While I was at the park, a young boy ran over to me, intrigued by me and my camera. After I assured the mom I was not interested in photographing the children, we began talking about how much fun we used to have on stuff just like this. Her son was having a ball, climbing, hanging and swinging from the bars. In other words, acting like a complete monkey! 🙂  

I have visited parks with newer equipment and I must say, I don’t see the same enthusiasm as I did in this little boy playing on those old, rusty metal bars.  

Who says change is always for the best?

21 Comments

  1. … freakin’ change … always messing with our childhood memories …..

  2. Great shadows and I love the post-processing…nice!

    • Thank you! I also thought the shadows were what made this really work and the post-processing, well, that’s there to push the nostalgic feeling to the limit! 🙂

  3. the shadows definitely make the shots! i like the second one focusing more on the shadow, but i love the negative space in the first. i can’t choose my favorite!

  4. Yup, I agree, the shadows definitely make the pic! The first one is one of my favorites of the series.

  5. That old west toning really adds to these and your other shots. I love the play with shadow. The second one’s my fav’. Another winner.

    • Thanks, Dave! I couldn’t decide between the two so that is why I posted both. I’m sure I looked quite strange sitting on top of the bars when I took these, but c’est la vie! 🙂

  6. I like both, but I like the first one better.

    • Thank you, Jan. I really couldn’t decide – I think each has its merit and folks have been conflicted. They make a great pair.

  7. Superb shots as always, Tracy! I really like this kind of effects/tones.

  8. this whole playground set is brilliant. you should look into exhibiting them! Love them all.

    • Thank you, Pat! I hope to do just that, as well as create a nice large photobook of the series. I’ve already looked a bit into exhibiting and I need to finish the series before I can apply/submit. So, stay tuned… I really appreciate your stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  9. Another for my list of favorites in your playground series.

    • That list is getting long, Lynn….I must be doing something right! 🙂 Thanks bunches!

  10. I wrote a short piece about monkey bars in class and while searching the web for a picture that would complement my writing, I found yours! Could I possibly use your photo in my writing, of course with full citation and credit given to you? It would be much appreciated!

    • Hello Zeewan –

      I will respond to your inquiry via e-mail….


Leave a Reply

