Skip navigation


Whiskers, the tiny house mouse, was released back into the care of Mother Nature this morning. It didn’t take her long to scamper off into the cover of the wood pile as if she’s done that her whole life. It was a bittersweet moment for me as I was sad to see her go but glad that I had the chance to heal her and give her a second chance. May she live a long and happy mouse life! 🙂 

"Spring Dance" (Crocus tommasinianus aka Snow Crocus) Nikon D300, 105mm F/2.8G Macro, F/4, 1/320s, -1.3EV, ISO 640, Color Efex Pro 'Glamour Glow' Filter

One thing for sure is I cannot complain about the weather today – sunny and into the upper-70’s with a slight coastal breeze. The landscape abounds with renewed spirit! I glimpsed two isolated snow crocus blossoms near the ramp to our cedar shed and liked how their petals touched as they swayed together in the wind, seemingly enjoying this gorgeous day as much as me. 

Oh, now this is how it should be! Happy Easter! 🙂

14 Comments

  1. What a delicate capture of spring!

    • Thank you, Chrisje! I am so happy you stopped by to view my blog and to comment! Always good to see a new face. I hope you visit again! 🙂

  2. very nicely captured.
    the simple beauty of it is striking

    • I’d been photographing the crocus as they have been slowly popping up in the lawn, but none were giving any sort of wow factor until I saw these two. I always feel blessed when I can capture something this special. Thank you so much for your comment! 🙂

  3. Crocus have always been my favorite flower – so spring – so Easter. Your photo is lovely.

    • Thank you, Tammy. I am glad I could do your favorite flower justice! 🙂

  4. They’re dancing! 🙂
    Happy (slightly belated) Easter! So glad that spring has finally arrived!

  5. Touching. 🙂 I enjoyed the weather as much as I could over the weekend. It smells “earthy” and good outside now.

    • Ha! Very appropriate, Scott! Today is gorgeous as well. Just spent about an hour outside just watching all the birds and critters doing what they do. This is when you know, spring is here! Woo hoo!

  6. Stunning shot, Tracy. And I’m sure Whiskers is appreciative of your rescue efforts.

  7. Super colors – neat crocus species as well.

    • Thanks, Tom! I knew this crocus was a bit different and it was only after some research that I found it out to be a ‘Snow Crocus’. Isn’t amazing the things we don’t even know we don’t know?!


Leave a Reply

